Shop is back online (under construction)

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,242
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Well, the shop is back online - and I spent dozens of hours to get it into that state :)

A lot of nice new features and products to come, but still a lot of work to do.

The shop itself should work, but I've got a lot of categorizing, image creating, etc. to do. :)
So it will be a WIP.

Anyone is welcome to check out the shop and report any bugs / mistranslations / missing translations / wrong CSS, etc. you find.

The usual domain: https://www.dragonbox.de

Thanks to you all for your ongoing support :D
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,371
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Nice work. Somehow it seems easier to get around than the old site, and for now at least seems faster to load pages. I did quite like the way the old site used to show you everything in subsections when you entered a section, and you could then use the subsections to filter results, in effect. Now it only shows the subcategories which at first glance made me think nothing had been added to that section yet. Maybe it's something I'd get used to, but if you could at least use that space to highlight things that are in stock which you want to highlight that would seem to me the best use for that space.

One other thing, it took me a good while to notice that items with 'Details' in the spot that normally had 'Buy' in were out of stock. Maybe if you had some splash or similar across the image saying 'on order' (assuming that's basically true for anything out of stock on your site), or something, assuming you don't just want to say 'not in stock'.
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,220
Replacement parts -> You do not have access to this category.
Repair/mod service -> Sorry for the inconvenience.
Accessories -> based on system -> Sorry for the inconvenience.

I did a search for "megadrive", then sorted by price "high to low" -> the sorting never ends, I'm forced to reload the page.
 

Inqui

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Messages
181
Location
NRW
Pyra description:
https://www.dragonbox.de/de/45-pyra

Code:
Zudem wurde das minimale produktionsziel (500 Stück) durch die Vorbestellungen bereits erreicht.
"Produktionsziel"

Code:
Bei ALLEN Versionen sind die technischen Daten wir Prozessor, Display, Storage-Größe, WLAN, etc. identisch.
"wie"

Pibow description:
https://www.dragonbox.de/de/raspberry-pi/568-pibow-3-gehause-raspberry-pi-3-2-b-raspberry-pi-4260416651777.html

Code:
Durchsichtiger Deckel und Bodenplatte, damit Dein Raspberry Pi sichtbar bleibts
"bleibt"
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,242
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Replacement parts -> You do not have access to this category.
Repair/mod service -> Sorry for the inconvenience.
Accessories -> based on system -> Sorry for the inconvenience.

I did a search for "megadrive", then sorted by price "high to low" -> the sorting never ends, I'm forced to reload the page.
Thanks for the replacement parts info

The other two just means there's nothing in that main category. And "based on system" shouldn't have anything in there but the subcategories (which it shows)
No idea how to properly solve that.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,242
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Nice work. Somehow it seems easier to get around than the old site, and for now at least seems faster to load pages. I did quite like the way the old site used to show you everything in subsections when you entered a section, and you could then use the subsections to filter results, in effect. Now it only shows the subcategories which at first glance made me think nothing had been added to that section yet. Maybe it's something I'd get used to, but if you could at least use that space to highlight things that are in stock which you want to highlight that would seem to me the best use for that space.

One other thing, it took me a good while to notice that items with 'Details' in the spot that normally had 'Buy' in were out of stock. Maybe if you had some splash or similar across the image saying 'on order' (assuming that's basically true for anything out of stock on your site), or something, assuming you don't just want to say 'not in stock'.
You can still use the filter :)
Just select Games directly and then you will have the filters on the left side :)
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,371
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Yes, filtering works. And you've added some items to the front page of each section, which satisfies the problem I was having (although in the consoles section you do highlight two out of stock items which seems less than ideal unless you really want to judge interest in them).

Books and merchandise link doesn't work for me, also brands. infos about the shop (is infos a correct word?).
The Pyra shirt is not in the all merch overview: https://www.dragonbox.de/en/50-merchandise
The Books and Merch link presents me with an overlaid dropdown storefront thing, as does brands. I guess you probably need a little javascrips enabled to see those. It did confuse me to begin with that those categories didn't work like all of the others, but at least in the books and merch dropdown the links to those two separate sections are there (although I had to scroll down on my small screened laptop).

And apparently 'informations' is a word, but technically it refers to legal discoveries I think. Normally, 'information' is considered uncountable, so if you have more than one it's still just 'information'. 'Shop info' seems no less clear to me than 'Info about the shop', FWIW. But before looking it up, I didn't know about the legal definition, and didn't consider an accidental pluralising of something uncountable to be a heinous grammatical crime.
 

ible

professional vim user
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
2,196
Location
Seattle, WA
not sure if this is a problem, but the standard and mobile versions of the Pyra have the same reference id (PYR2GBUS):
mobile.png

wifi.png


also, Revo K101 shows up as the only handheld (without a subcategory) on this page:
https://www.dragonbox.de/en/213-handhelds
i'm not sure if you want to show all handhelds there, or none, but having just one makes it seem like you're wanting to advertise it more.
 

TeDaDeS

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
886
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
The Books and Merch link presents me with an overlaid dropdown storefront thing, as does brands. I guess you probably need a little javascrips enabled to see those. It did confuse me to begin with that those categories didn't work like all of the others, but at least in the books and merch dropdown the links to those two separate sections are there (although I had to scroll down on my small screened laptop).
These items don't have a href/link in them, the dropdown shows for me, so clicking them doesn't link you to the main books/merch page.
 

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,039
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
Nice to see the "Bestsellers" straight on the front page. Not surte if this was also in the old design but anyways, nice feature.
Site loaded rather slow on my side but I have slow Internet anyways and there are alot of huge pictures. I guess it will get better after caching most of it through the browser.
 

Blue Shadow

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
147
Yeah I also think it is a bit unfortunate that you can't see all items of a category at once anymore, and have to click through subcategories first.
Also, the shop now lost a really helpful feature: Sorting by availability! Does the new system support that option?

Other than that, it looks pretty neat.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,371
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Yeah, I tested that out more or less when you reported it (or at least, when I read you reporting it). For me if I sort by price either (high to low or the other way round) if still says there are how many items, but just doesn't show any of them. It's still doing that for me; does it work properly for you now? For reference, I just tested games, for Nintendo NES, and Pandora repairs, and they both behaved the same.

Edit: To be clear, it never hung for me, it's just never quite worked.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,242
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Yeah, I tested that out more or less when you reported it (or at least, when I read you reporting it). For me if I sort by price either (high to low or the other way round) if still says there are how many items, but just doesn't show any of them. It's still doing that for me; does it work properly for you now? For reference, I just tested games, for Nintendo NES, and Pandora repairs, and they both behaved the same.

Edit: To be clear, it never hung for me, it's just never quite worked.
Hm, works here. Any output from the console inspector in your browser?
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,371
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Just tested it, and no, not even a blocked script/cookie message from uMatrix. But I've disovered that it seems to work for e.g. in umpc's running linux which is the first thing I tested just now, but when I tested games for NES again, it failed again, with no console messages.

Here's what I get, in the browser window at least:
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,242
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Right, thanks, it's the same thing for me as well!
Additionally, if you reload the site afterwards, it doesn't find any products.

I've got a second issue... Products only show up in their main category, not in their other associated categories. That's why "Games" and "Accessories" main categories are empty, even though there should be all products in there.
I need to investigate that, I've got the feeling both are related.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,371
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Looks better now the shop is back. I can now sort things by price without them disappearing, and the filter box appears on the left properly now. I can also see all of the game in the games front page without having to go into each subsection to see them all. Much better now, thanks.

Edit: And you've coloured the 'details' button grey while the 'buy' button that's in it's place if you do have stock remains bright orange. That's much clearer. And the spare-tools category seems to be fully accessible now. So I think that's everything I've found that was broken fixed, ta very much!
 
Last edited:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,242
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Yeah, looks like the update to 1.7.5.2 fixed it.

However, it broke PayPal on the OnePageCheckout module, so I've switched back to the normal checkout for now.
And AmazonPay also isn't working... need to contact the developers for that.
 
Top