Remove the double spacing when you press ENTER

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,555
It's really annoying.

I just pressed enter, and I get an extra line of nothing. Wasted space. And there's enough wasted as it is with this new board.

D

.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,422
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
That is the official web standard - SHIFT + ENTER is how to get to the next line (without paragraph).

IPB4.1 can be set back to single-line with enter in the editor and that should be out in October, so that should fix it.
I'll still see whether I can hack that configuration into our current setup as well.
 

rygD

Nihilistic Mystic
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
7,446
Location
Everywhere
That is the official web standard - SHIFT + ENTER is how to get to the next line (without paragraph).

IPB4.1 can be set back to single-line with enter in the editor and that should be out in October, so that should fix it.
I'll still see whether I can hack that configuration into our current setup as well.
It seems odd to me that the web standard would be different from other standards.  shift+enter should give you the atypical thing, and enter alone should give you a line break or line feed, or carriage return or whatever it is called when you get a new line.  Silly me,  I shouldn't compare web stuff to everything else I do on my computer.  
Anyway, thank for fixing it.  

Now if we could only we could get rid of that wasted line after a quote.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,422
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Erm... now newlines only work in the editor.   They don't show up on the saved message at all. :-( -Neelix
Then that's a conflict with the bbcode-Plugin... looks like I really need to remove it.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,995
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Now there's no way to get an actual paragraph break in the HTML.  Both enter and shift-enter now generate hard break (br) codes.

In practice, two brs is nigh on identical to one close p open p, but it might affect styling is any user tries to apply, perhaps.

Personally I was reasonably happy with the old behaviour - I want a clear separation between paragraphs, and it saves me hitting enter twice, but if others want breaks I'm okay with that.
 

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,059
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
That is the official web standard - SHIFT + ENTER is how to get to the next line (without paragraph).

IPB4.1 can be set back to single-line with enter in the editor and that should be out in October, so that should fix it.
I'll still see whether I can hack that configuration into our current setup as well.
But Shift+Enter also didn't work, that was the problem.  ;) I know these standards and I have no problem to use them since ages in Word for example. It now seems to be fixed, good. Edito Window still displays the text different than in the  actual post but OK, I can work with that. ^^
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top