Question

Discussion in 'General talk' started by XSamu, Apr 26, 2004.

  1. XSamu

    XSamu Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Is it possible to use digital camera memory cards for your Gp 32??
    cause then I could put in cards of 512 mb
     
    Tags:
  2. PinkSpider

    PinkSpider Shit.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    Hull.
    nope. 3.3v smcs only. (128mb max)
     
  3. Axeman

    Axeman Axemeister

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Newport, Wales, UK
    Hmmm

    Well... if you camera uses SMC cards, then yes!

    But... they dont come any bigger than 128Mb.

    So that puts an end to that idea.
     
  4. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    and even if they did, they wouldn't work anyway (search to find out why, I'm tired of typing the reasons).
     
  5. diablo2

    diablo2 Virtual Boy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    The A
    we should mod a pendrive to work with gp32
    20 gigs
    total ownage
     
  6. Lethe

    Lethe Thew away PSP for a DS! WOOT

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    WA, USA
    that would be great but probably not possible
    ;)
     
  7. Akuma no Houkon

    Akuma no Houkon Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    USA > Washington > Everett
    It wouldnt be possible, the way that the GP32 reads the SMC's, sectors, and whatnot.
    The best, and most possible, idea, is:

    Memory Cards for PSX, N64, GC, DC, etc.. all use similar technology. If you were to create a SMC that had a 4x selector that allowed you to swap between 4 (or more) 128 MB SMC's, that would be possible and probably work, As the GP32 would _only_ see a 128 SMC (although you would technically have 4 or more in one)
     
  8. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    That's how 128mb SMCs work, they are four 32mb chips inside one casing. Software supporting them has to know this and respond approriately (yes, 64mb one are two stuck together).

    Would be nice though to get some kind of blank card with just a connector on the end for emulating a SMC, would could then have 512mb by using a 4-way switch, the switch being overridable in software, so if someone did there own divx decoder & viewer, the result could be the possibility of watching 500mb DIVX's :)
     
  9. Akuma no Houkon

    Akuma no Houkon Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    USA > Washington > Everett
    Thats basically what I just said! :)

    It would be nice, and it would be entirely possible (maybe not the "software detecting" part, that might be pushing it, but the rest is entirely possible)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  10. Shadow of Chaos

    Shadow of Chaos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    South wales, UK.
    Does a pig eat pigswill? :rolleyes:
     
  11. BaDToaD

    BaDToaD "Very" Old Timer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,452
    Location:
    UK
    Is a shadow cast when you're not looking at it?
     
  12. Vimacs

    Vimacs Don't be evil!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,211
    Location:
    Germany
    hmm if i remember right the gp32 can read "any" card size hardware side, you "only" have to modify bios and the sdk drivers.

    ps: that mass storage thingee is allready pickd up and its not impossible.
     
  13. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    If there was a way of extending the pins from the smc out of the gp32, then I wouldn't mind having a crack at this myself. Microdrive anyone ? :)
     
  14. Josquius

    Josquius Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    Co.Durham
    Any mods talking about some kind of bigger storage for the GP32 are really talking about making a whole new system as that is what much of it would be...
     
  15. kknd_cf

    kknd_cf La vieille dame et les pigeons

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,284
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    How many SMC's do most of you have?
     
  16. g8w4y

    g8w4y Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    I'm in Redruth, Cornwall. The area sucks... Hando
    kknd_cf - only one 128. I would get another, but I havent got the money ATM. Out of interest, what does your nickname actually mean, if anything?

    and, so I don't have to start multiple posts - :p...

    akuma - I made the music for the games, but how long do you want it (cropping etc)

    New emoticon... dude! gp32_console
     
  17. ThndrShk2k

    ThndrShk2k The Awesome Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    626
    Location:
    Pants
    if you actually make a bigger memory thing, it either needs to run on the GP32 3.3v or have a battery of it's own, if the battery of it's own thing, then you need to make a bios that can handle it, or handle it and 128mb cards
    Basically the same thing as the 32mb ram upgrade :D
     
  18. sam fisher

    sam fisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,446
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    2 128 mb card is what I have.
     
  19. kknd_cf

    kknd_cf La vieille dame et les pigeons

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,284
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    Ever played the game kknd?
    Stands for kill krush n' destroy
    Well I started getting ripped at school all the fucking time. <_<
    Being called a camp faggot. So I lost all my self convidence and felt like destroying myslf hence the name. It's now pretty much my name for everything. :p
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  20. PinkSpider

    PinkSpider Shit.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    Hull.
    Wasent it a RTS game?
     

Share This Page

Loading...