Psp Get A Flash Player

DijiTao

Saw this today: http://www.psphacks.net/content/view/639/2/ and it really caught my eye. I suspect that this project is based on Gnash (http://www.gnu.org/software/gnash/) given its limitations and that the developer is promising to release the source in a couple of days. This might make for an excellent starting point for a GP2X swf player, and I’m just curious if any of the psp users could give it a try to see how well it works.

I think Gnash uses OpenGL, nickspoon was considering it when he ported his flash player.

I have a PSP I can try it tomorrow. If we get a Flash player on GP2X then I might finally be able to write something for it as I'm a Graphic Designer and have always felt a bit left out of the coding scene!

®

I think this might be more then a simple port thou - it looks like at the very least this has a pretty front end for loading the files. Prehaps given the amount of attention this is getting some active development might happen on this project to increase compatability.

The main problem with porting flash stuff is that you have to actually edit the games thenselves .

My friend used to do it for ibproarcade ( for this kind of forum software no less ) so the submit score functions would work with the arcade system .

Same concept you would have to decompile the flash game and edit the buttons used and recompile it .

Not hard , but would have to be done on a game by game basis .

I did look at Gnash, but it uses OpenGL (and for good reason). It's the most advanced open source flash player out there, and the only other candidate was GPLFlash2 (which also uses OpenGL). Every other flash playing program/lib only works with Flash <=4.

EDIT: I can't seem to find the sourcecode, can anyone point me at it?

nickspoon posted on Feb 28 2006 at 12:20 PM said: