Programming

StopPlayingKidz

Still Fresh
Im a Newbie High School student that will graduate high school soon, I want to learn programming but I need help on were to start. Which is the best language to start learning on? Any suggestions also. Besides this, Id also love to hear more information about the pyra or the Open Pandora, I got interested just recently though I never even new the existence of this portable linux PC. Ive been influenced by the PlayStation and Nintendo so the pyra and open pandora s new to me. Would love to know more about it. From what Ive read in rhe forums it sees like a very cool device, this should be the alternative for chromebooks at school since its cheap and portable for students.

If you want to get something on the screen quick to learn the basics of programming, learn Python. It gets you where you want quick, but not necessarily in the best way. Many concepts from it carry to other languages though and it's a useful thing to learn.

If you want to see how things work and don't mind a bit more stuff to learn, go with C. When you're comfortable with C up to dynamic memory allocation (malloc/free), move on to C++ if you want. C is a simpler language so it's easier to grasp, but C++ is (in my opinion) a nicer language to code in and knowing the basics of C help in understanding how it works. These have great performance and flexibility, but are somewhat more laborous to get started with.

If you don't really care how things work at low levels but want good performance, start with C++. C is a good learning experience and good for many things, but I consider C++ a better language to know and use. That's my opinion, of course.