Platform Game

hisaki

Still Fresh
I'm working on a simple platform game using C++ and SDL. Figured this would be an easier way of getting in to C++ than my other idea (the music generator thing).

So far the player can walk around a level, jump on platforms, collect coins, fall in pits. The graphics are absolutely horrid though as I'm no graphic artist.

It plays quite ok in my opinion though, barring some issues. Like, when you jump, all the force is calculated at the start of the jump. So it doesn't matter how long you hold the jump button for, the jump will be the same height each time. There are some other issues, my colleague at work calls the game "hovercraft boy". I'm not sure if that effect is entirely unwanted as it makes the game a little more challenging.

If anyone wants to give it a go, I've compiled it for Windows and GP2X (only tested on an F100). If anyone wants me to, I'll see if I can do mac or linux builds too.

http://queenofbuckets.com/SDL_Game.zip (Windows and GP2X)

Controls:
Windows: arrow keys (left/right) z = run, x = jump
GP2X: X = run, B = jump, Start = exit

If you dig around the resources you'll find some XML files. Not everything is loaded from these yet, but you can edit the level in level1.xml.

It's all pretty early and very much work in progress. The end goal is combining it with a website where people can make their own little platform game. I don't know how feasible that is, but it sounds like a nice way to avoid having to do the art myself :)

Edit:
Forgot to pack some libraries, updated the archive

seems to play well enough on windows :) jumping and falling feel a bit weird, but that probably needs some getting used to.

Graphics could do with some updating as you mentioned, but i'm even worse at it than you ;)

And wondering: Toevallig vlaams?

Cheers!

MarkoeZ

MarkoeZ said:
seems to play well enough on windows :) jumping and falling feel a bit weird, but that probably needs some getting used to.