Pandora Hotfix 4 Final released (2010-08-31)

Discussion in 'Pandora News' started by EvilDragon, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, since there had been no bad reports about Hotfix 4 Beta 4 yesterday, it was about time to make it final :)


    It is the exact same version as Beta 4, so if you installed this already,there's no need to install the final one.


    The following fixes have been included in Hotfix 4:



    Code:
    * Kernel: Added Bluetooth patch by urjaman. PAN (bluetooth internet connections) work fine now.
    * WiFi: Fixed the problem where you could not reconnect after you lost a connections
    * xf86-video-omapfb: add pandora specific screen blanking
    * Nub Mousebuttons: Moving down is now middle mousebuttons. Recognition of mouseclicks with the nub has been enhanced (patch by urjaman)
    * Pandora-Scripts: The internal scripts (CPU-Speed, Startup-Manager, etc.) have icons now.
    * Pandora-Scripts: Added simple TV-Out script.
    * Lid: Opening / Closing will not affect the powersave mode anymore.
    * Enhanced brightness scripts (made the more linear)
    * Powersave mode: Fixed the CPU Speed setting
    * pnd_run: Added support for clockspeed setting
    * libpnd: Support spaces in pathnames and PND-Names.
    * Updated to a more recent XFCE4-Version
    * First-Run-Wizard and Time / Date script: Fixed bug of not-appearing calendar
    * New default config for vim (thanks to Nils Kneuper (Ivanovic))
    * Python: Added python-misc and python-modules
    * New lib: libaudiofile0 now included
    * MiniMenu: New config dialogue included (will be improved in the future)
    * udev 151: add rule to reserve fb2
    * Leds: Fix TWL4030 PWM LED driver (thanks to Urja Rannikko)
    * Pandora misc: HACK to change OPP level according to set mhz (thanks to Urja Rannikko) + OPP limiter added (by notaz)
    * OMAP: DSS2: make filter coefficient tables human readable, DSS2: add some hackish FIR filter coefficient access

    To install it, remove all previouse HotFix PNDs from your SD Card and put the new one there (either in /pandora/menu or /pandora/desktop).


    The Hotfix should install properly on ANY OS Version.


    You can download it here.


    A full flash image can be found here.

    [/CODE]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2010
    Tags:
  2. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,672
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ah nice I will try it tonight :)
     
  3. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,672
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Four hotfixes within 3 months, great work nice to see all this attention put into the firmware.
     
  4. zipper

    zipper Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    The powersave is now great. As is the wireless connection when coming out of powersave / any drop.


    For me, the right nub as mouse buttons is a little tempermental now though... When using the shortcut buttons on the desktop, most of the time I'm getting a double bounce resulting in 2 browsers / file managers etc.


    EDIT - actually, after a reboot the right nub seems perfect with HF4. Might have just been slight miscalibration or something.


    Thanks for all the hard work that's obviously gone into this.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2010
  5. Mr_Loon

    Mr_Loon Can't Remember

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,323
    Working fine here. Great work with the hot fixes.
     
  6. BackAssward

    BackAssward Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    985
    After the usual boot up screen... is anyone else getting a white screen with a mouse image in the middle and a stop watch? Also, for restart, is it usual to see a terminal window pop-up?


    Thanks.


    B
     
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    That's the official XFCE4 Splash screen. It came with the upgrade to a more recent version.
     
  8. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,734
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    It was also on the original pandora firmware you could enable it in the settings, just as you can disable the mouse from the settings now :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2010
  9. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Eek. Just installed the Hotfix and rebooted my Pandora, now I get a DOS-style screen with Angstrom in big Ascii text and a login prompt. Typing anything into the login field and pressing enter then reveals a password prompt, but it won't register any key presses...


    ...help?
     
  10. Tickles

    Tickles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    UK
    I believe it hides the password so you won't see anything as you type, but it is registering, if that helps.
     
  11. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Does it matter what I type in? I'm guessing it's the same info I used when I registered the device?

    I'm getting "login incorrect" now. :(
     
  12. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    Yes. It would be that. EDIT: How strange. :blink:


    I'm just curious here, but had you installed any items on the NAND (via opkg) prior to installing the hotfix?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2010
  13. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Nope, just installed emulators and other PND stuff so far.
     
  14. Tickles

    Tickles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry I don't actually have mine yet, I just know that linux hides passwords in a terminal :(
     
  15. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2010
  16. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    X seems to be broken.


    Best to reflash - get the latest image including HF4 at the support area of the official website.
     
  17. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    Your image code, there, needs to be in BBCode. ;)


    Anyway, that looks like a pretty standard non-graphical login screen. Just to be sure, you're typing in your username correctly (as in, all lowercase, and all that), and then your password when prompted? (Please don't take any offence at my asking this. I'm just making sure all bases are covered. :) )


    EDIT: Ninja'd by the edit and ninja'd by ED. :ph34r:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2010
  18. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ok, reflash coming up. I'll let you know how I get on.
     
  19. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    BTW, will this wipe my SD card as well?
     
  20. Duddyroar

    Duddyroar Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Flashed and done, phew :)


    Thanks for the help guys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...