P-Uae


sabrecheeky

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
115
Just been trying this out, and not been too successful!

I have E-UAE set up in various places to clone my (still going strong!) A1200 with harddisk, memory expansion, accelerator, etc. P-UAE is obviously a branch of E-UAE, given that the title bar still says E-UAE! I have edited .uaerc to setup my .hdfs and seems to go fine.

CPU Selection?

The emulator allows me to select 68020 as the processor, but seems to switch it back to 68000 after running. I noticed 'cpu_type=68ec020' was missing from .uaerc, so added it. But the emulator just ignored it anyway! I suppose it is nice to see the guru screen whenever I forget to change it ><.

Colours

The AGA colours seem messed up - My lovely 128 colour workbench has been reduced to 4 colour yuckiness! I tried 'Slamtilt' and 'UFO: Enemy Unknown', two AGA games, and the colours were very wrong, some seemed missing as if the game was still running under OCS.

Running a few OCS games under WHDload works not bad considering... still slow of course, but the colours seemed right.

Game Ports

The emulator recognises that there is a 'Joystick 0' in the system, but it doesn't seem to be binded. Selecting cursor keys allows me to uses the dpad, but no fire button I can find!

Full Screen Mode

In E-UAE you select fullscreen by pressing F12 along with 'S' together. This is not possible on the pandora keyboard. The 'native resolution' for my PAL machine is 320x256 or 640x256, which E-UAE and P-UAE pixel double up to 640x512, slightly too big for the pandora screen. Some nice hardware scaling would be great here!


I see over at EAB that Gnostic is still working on P-UAE, but he doesn't have a pandora. I really wish I had some coding skill to give this emulator some love. I installed my floppies to hard drive many years ago, using the great WHDload and various other utilities. I have boxes of amiga floppies still around, but they are riddled with read-write errors (I suppose after 20+ years, that is to be expected!) so attempting to .adf them up to use in UAE4All was a frustrating effort!

I have to admit the thought of E-UAE in my pocket was the deciding factor on that fateful day in Sept 2008 when I ordered my pandora, but of course reality reared its ugly head again! I'd love to see this alternative to UAE4all grow and mature - is anyone with the skills still working on it?
 

silver

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
174
sabregolly said:
I see over at EAB that Gnostic is still working on P-UAE, but he doesn't have a pandora. I really wish I had some coding skill to give this emulator some love. I installed my floppies to hard drive many years ago, using the great WHDload and various other utilities. I have boxes of amiga floppies still around, but they are riddled with read-write errors (I suppose after 20+ years, that is to be expected!) so attempting to .adf them up to use in UAE4All was a frustrating effort!

I have to admit the thought of E-UAE in my pocket was the deciding factor on that fateful day in Sept 2008 when I ordered my pandora, but of course reality reared its ugly head again! I'd love to see this alternative to UAE4all grow and mature - is anyone with the skills still working on it?
The PND version of PUAE from last year is old in PUAE terms. The latest PUAE version 2.3.1 feels much better to me, although WIP and still a bit slow when not in workbench, though it's utterly un-optimised at the moment.

Not sure about the PND version, but in the current version of PUAE I would regard the Gui as *very* broken - I ignore it completely and set everything up through the .uaerc (Gnostic is I believe working to completely emulate all the WinUAE options in the GUI - so should be nice in the end). Doing this, you can set up 68020/68881 AGA amiga with multiple harddrives/hardfiles; I've cloned my Amiga HD and it works fine. WHDload works too, though you tend to run into slowdown when audio is used.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sabrecheeky

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
115
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, the gui was always a bit useless in E-UAE anyway, and on the pandora it is even worse with half the window missing! So, I'm used to messing with the .uaerc. Not used to compiling though, or making a pnd - so I'll just need to wait for a version which is worthy of being pnd'd up by someone! Got all the config files and .hdfs ready!
 

silver

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
174
sabregolly said:
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, the gui was always a bit useless in E-UAE anyway, and on the pandora it is even worse with half the window missing! So, I'm used to messing with the .uaerc. Not used to compiling though, or making a pnd - so I'll just need to wait for a version which is worthy of being pnd'd up by someone! Got all the config files and .hdfs ready!
I've compiled it native on the pandora, so have a uae executable I could share in a few days, not read up on PND building although looks pretty straightforward.

If anyone wants to compile native, just use opkg to install all the dev system bits (gcc/autotools/git etc..) pull a git clone of PUAE, add a bunch of librarys via opkg (SDL1.2-dev/GTK+2.0-dev/xorg-core etc..etc.. theres quite a few). Then gnostic has added a 'build_pandora_gtk.sh' script to compile.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Snappy

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
19
silver said:
I've compiled it native on the pandora, so have a uae executable I could share in a few days, not read up on PND building although looks pretty straightforward.

If anyone wants to compile native, just use opkg to install all the dev system bits (gcc/autotools/git etc..) pull a git clone of PUAE, add a bunch of librarys via opkg (SDL1.2-dev/GTK+2.0-dev/xorg-core etc..etc.. theres quite a few). Then gnostic has added a 'build_pandora_gtk.sh' script to compile.
Hi Silver!
It would be very nice if you can try to build PND version of P-UAE from up-to-date sources.
Please .. can you try to do it for all of us? :)
And in next step you can be the "official" builder/maintainer of PND version of P-UAE ;)
Thank you very much for answer and/or (hopefully) link to PND build ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

silver

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
174
Snappy said:
Hi Silver!
It would be very nice if you can try to build PND version of P-UAE from up-to-date sources.
Please .. can you try to do it for all of us? :)
And in next step you can be the "official" builder/maintainer of PND version of P-UAE ;)
Thank you very much for answer and/or (hopefully) link to PND build ;)
Hi - Sorry, completely missed this post/request. And been completely swamped with babies/moving house/job etc. I'm also going away with no internet for 2 weeks...

I'll try and re-visit if no one has compiled a recent version. One of the problems at the moment is that the GUI is broken for Pandora, relying on .uaerc files to configure which is a pain and confusing. If the gui was fixed, it would be easy to get lots of testing done and bugs reported to Gnostic - but he mainly wants to work on emulation core, not a Gui (good for him).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Snappy

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
19
Hello Silver,
did you try to make PND for us? :) Please ... ;)
I dont care about nonfunctional GUI, for testing even textbased config is nice :)
I hope that your moving/babies etc "problems" are OK ..
Thank you for answer!

silver said:
Snappy said:
Hi Silver!
It would be very nice if you can try to build PND version of P-UAE from up-to-date sources.
Please .. can you try to do it for all of us? :)
And in next step you can be the "official" builder/maintainer of PND version of P-UAE ;)
Thank you very much for answer and/or (hopefully) link to PND build ;)
Hi - Sorry, completely missed this post/request. And been completely swamped with babies/moving house/job etc. I'm also going away with no internet for 2 weeks...

I'll try and re-visit if no one has compiled a recent version. One of the problems at the moment is that the GUI is broken for Pandora, relying on .uaerc files to configure which is a pain and confusing. If the gui was fixed, it would be easy to get lots of testing done and bugs reported to Gnostic - but he mainly wants to work on emulation core, not a Gui (good for him).
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top