Open Pandora in Aluminum case?

Would you buy an Aluminum case for the Open Pandora?

• Yes, price doesn't matter

Votes: 4 10.8%
  • Yes, but no more than $100

Votes: 13 35.1%
  • Maybe, how good is it?

Votes: 15 40.5%
  • Maybe, will I get it within Two Months™?

Votes: 2 5.4%
  • No thanks, I like the black

Votes: 1 2.7%
  • No thanks, I will be happy with the new platinum black

Votes: 2 5.4%

• Total voters

Link

ithic.com
Website
www.ithic.com
Hello Community,

I'm just curious to see if this is possible, and how much interest there is into making it happen.

Feel free to post your thoughts and ideas here.

I'm just talking a part for part switch. I remember Linux-SWAT had some things he was working on with a 3D printer, and these things keep getting cheaper. IIRC the exact specs aren't public for hardware pirates, but maybe we could get the information for the community to design an aluminum case.

I've just heard of a 3D printer with clunky software for $600. I'm new to all of it.

Aluminum case as in the Pandora housing or a carry-case? Also, how does 3D-printing fit in with aluminium case manufacture?

Thanks.

Couldn't you just print a case?

Pandora case, like the flat black that's current or the platinum black that ED just picked up from customs in Germany.

Last edited by a moderator:
^

Like I said, I know nothing about 3D printers, and sure I could research it, I just wanted to start a discussion regardless about an aluminum case for the Open Pandora market.

You couldn't print a whole case in aluminum. You could machine a unibody chassis like apple.

Unibody pandora.... Mmmmm :)

I think I would add up to about $300 for the whole Pandora enclosure to be aluminum. I don't even care so much about the color.

Most companies we asked said it can't be done. It's just far too complex.

It would also cause issues with the Wifi and BT.

A part Aluminium case is possible however, and that's usually what most manufacturers do.