No "boot from sd1" option

Sevaserg

Still Fresh
Hey people. Last two or three weeks I'm experiencing some sort of trouble with my Openpandora 1GHz ed..
The actual problem was in "i/o error", which was displayed when I was trying to install any app. I've decided to reflash, but after holding the R button there was no "boot from SD" option.
IMG_3967.JPG
Then I tried updating it via wifi, which made the situation worse — the store has disappeared, and the apps, which I've downloaded after the problem appearance, don't work, no matter how many times I've tryed. So I think reflash is the best option, but HOW? The card was mounted via pandora itself into FAT32, it is seen with XFCE but it can't be seen via boot menu.
IMG_3965.JPG
What's the problem? Am I doing something wrong? I'm new to Linux, so I apologize for a stupid question in case if the problem was already solved and I've missed it.

Attachments

• IMG_3965.JPG
    IMG_3965.JPG
    713.6 KB · Views: 251
  • IMG_3967.JPG
    IMG_3967.JPG
    653.9 KB · Views: 426
What card are you using? Some especially large cards take too long to be recognised for the boot system to pick them up before the menu pops up - one of the more recent released extended that time to make it more compatible with newer, larger cards, but it can still be problematic sometimes.

I'd suggest creating a small partition at the start of the card, and formatting that to FAT32 and putting the files in it. Small partitions probably enumerate faster than big ones, so that might work better. If not you might just need to buy a better, smaller card.

From my experience smaller partitions won't help, as it's card initialization that times out, not the partition read.

You'll need to find another card, usually smaller/older ones work.

These days... but how old is his firmware? The bootloader can only be updatet via SD and OP make it sound like he only ever did it via wifi.