Release NetSurf

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by Mash, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. Mash

    Mash Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Hello there,


    i've packaged NetSurf 2.1 from the Angstrom-Repo into PND.


    [​IMG]


    This is a very decent browser, but in the Angstrom-Version it lacks SSL-Support.


    Maybe someone wants to do a full port of the current Version 2.6 and enable it?


    Download PND


    Source-Code


    On the first run it will place a needed symbolic link on your NAND.
     
    Tags:
  2. Coldbird

    Coldbird Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you for the packaging. How does that browser compare, speedwise against Lightweight 2?


    Cause actually Im kinda hapy with LW2.
     
  3. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    Its almost as fast as Lightweight2. Btw, someone should consider compiling the latest source code of it and making it into a PND.
     
  4. Mash

    Mash Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    This would be my wish too (as stated in my first post above)!


    Hopefully someone will do it soon, then we'd have the (in my opinion) perfect Browser for the Pandora...
     
  5. Esn

    Esn (:";

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,239
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks. This seems to be faster than Lightweight2, but not as fast as Links2. It's also in between them in terms of how much stuff it loads. It looks more familiar than what you see in Links2, but you still won't be able to sort the tables in the Pandorawiki, for example.


    I'm going to keep using Links2 for the most part, I think, but more options are always nice.


    My main annoyance with it right now is that the d-pad seems to focus not on the screen itself, but on the top menu. The d-pad should be for scrolling within the screen, not for selecting menu options.
     
  6. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    mash: slaeshjag is trying to compile the latest source code of it. He got the makefile to accept all of the installed dependencies but ran into a problem. That problem is that it crashes before it actually starts to compile the source code.
     
  7. Mash

    Mash Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    I've noticed this behaviour too. It seems (mostly) to work as expected, if you first do a click into the browser-window itself and then use the d-pad afterwards. It is of course a little bit annoying.
     
  8. Mash

    Mash Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Good to hear that someone is already working on it.


    Let's hope he can sort this problem out soon! *crosses fingers*
     
  9. Esn

    Esn (:";

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,239
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    For me, it mostly doesn't work as expected, and clicking into the browser window usually doesn't fix it. But sometimes, it begins working correctly for some reason.
     
  10. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    The problem is that the makefile has syntax errors in it which he doesn't want to fix. So, he's trying to compile v2.6 instead.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011
  11. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,687
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    I got 2.6 to compile and run!


    There's some problems with it though.


    I see some rendering problems. That wouldn't be that bad, but it also lacks Javascript o_O


    EDIT: Releasing anyway: Download
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011
  12. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887

    great thanks


    it works but when first starting pops up with error window - couldn't resolve host 'http:'


    cheers
     
  13. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    I've also noticed the rendering problems and error message.
     
  14. Esn

    Esn (:";

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,239
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Is it possible to set a default download directory in this?
     
  15. Mash

    Mash Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    In version 2.1 you could set one with "Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Download directory".


    Had no time to check v2.6 yet. Is that option missing there?


    BTW: i've updated Links2 and made it honour commandline-parameters.
     
  16. trevj

    trevj Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    49

Share This Page

Loading...