Nethack For Gp32

retrobits

Still Fresh
nethack01.png
nethack02.png

screenshots on the GP32:​
well, after ordering one of those last mysterious BLUs from craigx, I started playing around with the Mirko sdk and GeePee32 to pass the time until my unit arrived. After only a couple of days, NetHack limped its way to life. (I'm amazed at the quality of the tools provided by Spiv, Mirko, Firefly, Darkfader, and Wintermute... and many others. What took me months on Palm OS, I was able to accomplish in just a few days. Its really a tribute to the quality of the homebrew dev tools and libraries for GP32.)
[CUT]
Anyhow... here it is NetHack 3.4.3.1 for GP32. I managed to get it working on a smaller rez screen than the Zodiac, and it survived the translation very well. The GP32 actually runs a little quicker than the Zod version, and the controls are a little nicer too. The only thing that is a little slower is the I/O to the smc card. But its really not too bad. I am sure there are still lots of bugs. Let me know how you like it (or hate it?)...

some features:
  • "whiz-bang" colorized, pure ASCII, tty interface
  • Intelligent "screen-clipping" to fit within 320x240 pixels using a 6x8 font
  • Extended & colorized status line, adapted to GP32 display
  • Mini console for viewing recent "pager" messages and system events.
  • Level checkpointing (insurance files for recovering from crashes)
  • User definable macros, including editor
  • On-screen keyboard
  • High score list (Top Ten Scores!)
DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Here is the ReadMe File for GP32 (must read to learn controls).

If you don't have any idea what NetHack is... well, its time to get started. Here's the official Website, Man Page, the Guidebook, and the FAQ.

GP32 Lives!![/CUT]

cozmic posted on May 15 2006 at 02:14 AM said:
A what speed does it run? 66mhz?

yep, runs at a blazing 66mhz... lots of battery life!

Last edited by a moderator:
Excellent!

Sorry to be a beggar, but will tile support be added soon,