Neogeo Help Please Please

Discussion in 'I need help' started by matthew, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. matthew

    matthew Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Hi, I can play the smaller Neo Geo games like MetalSlug 1 ect but when I try the larger games like Blazstar, Metal Slug 2 it loads half the rom then returns to the neogeo main screen. I using rage as a front end if that help.

    Please please can some help me, I love my GP2X but need a bit of help now and then....

    Regards,

    Matt
     
    Tags:
  2. darkman

    darkman darkman unmasked!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Those roms need to create a grafx dump. Go into gngeo2x and start the bigger rom from there. It should prompt you with a question on whether or not to create this dump. It may take up to 32 megs of room. I have one that took up 66 megs. You need to allow for this dump to be created for the game to play. Everyone of the larger games need their own grafx dump. After you have allowed for it to create this dump, then you can go back into rage2x and start it. Just make sure you have enough room on your card. I have filled up a whole 1 gig card with Neo Geo. Hope this helps.
     
  3. matthew

    matthew Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Just tried that and the message

    sorry, gngeo couldn't dump this roms :(

    Anyone?
     
  4. darkman

    darkman darkman unmasked!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    try some of the same roms from a different source.
     
  5. matthew

    matthew Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks everyone, how do I know which games need grafx dump, is it the size of the rom?
     
  6. xinfernoofdantex

    xinfernoofdantex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    404
  7. evilmegaman

    evilmegaman Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    39

    What do you mean by it loads half the rom? is it like it starts loading and then kicks you back to the selector or rage2x? because that's what happens to me..

    EDIT: how do you do a graphics dump btw?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  8. raven

    raven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    The Hague, Netherlands
    GnGeo2x does this for you, it may take a while and you need some space on your sd-card.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  9. darkman

    darkman darkman unmasked!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    If you open every new rom up in gngeo2x first, it will let you know and perform the needed task for you.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  10. ckaloc2002

    ckaloc2002 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    You can also do it directly in Windows(or Linux) using the dumpgfx application available here: http://m.peponas.free.fr/gngeo/

    Once it is done, you will have a big .gfx file generated. Copy this files together with the rom in the /roms directory and enjoy the game.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  11. matthew

    matthew Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks for all your help everyone.....Ok I just tried a load of roms and used neogeo2x to open them not rage and Im getting a message "bad rom check romrc"

    Have I download bad roms or do I have a problem with my GP2X?
     
  12. kevcal

    kevcal Coding " Abduction;Retrieval "

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Southern England
    I get with some roms...:
    Unknow(sic) or unsupported romset.
    Check it and your romrc

    Guess they're bad dumps or unsupported (can't be bothered to trudge through romrc!)
    - Metal Slug X is one...
    - Super Dodgeball runs very very slow..

    But the emulator is a good showcase for the gp2x I think.

    Kev
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  13. matthew

    matthew Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Hi Kevcal, im from South England as well...

    Can anyone point me in the right direction were I can download backup roms from my neogeo for games I own?
     
  14. Shikaku

    Shikaku ROFL THE WORD PENIS IS HILARIOUS!

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,839
    Location:
    USA... I feel lonely, not that many people from US
    Pow pow ban ban!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  15. aapje89

    aapje89 Still here...

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    yep
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  16. ckaloc2002

    ckaloc2002 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Your GP2X is fine don't worry :). The issue is related to the bad roms. You can check if you have the right one in the romrc. I guess the file name from the romrc you are using are matching the filename in your zipped rom?

    An other solution is try to get the Antidark set of roms which are working fine for me.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  17. pepone

    pepone Pouet! Pouet! Do want!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    You certainly have an old dump, you should try to search another one
    Try the beta in my sig, it's fixed :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  18. kevcal

    kevcal Coding " Abduction;Retrieval "

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Southern England
    Will do - your emulator is a great showcase for the gp2x - people see it running on my son's and are immediately "oh, is that a psp...?" etc. He sets them straight :) The more good software thaht shows it off, the more sales gamepark will be getting!
    Atari emulator is also a bonus as well.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...