Native C++ IDE

ManlyStump

Apologies if any already exist (I couldn't find any at openhandhelds), but are there any plans to get a C++ IDE built for use on the Pandora? I know there are text editors such as gedit, but one that can compile directly and manage full projects would be most advantageous. Dev_C++ and Code::Blocks are both open source, and I believe Code::Blocks to be quite popular. I did notice on Dev-Cpp's site they include instructions on getting the software to build for ARM, but I'm not sure if that has any relation to the compiler itself's ability to run on ARM, but I guess it shows they have at least thought about it?

I am a complete beginner with coding of this nature unfortunately (I'm a .Net developer professionally, a whole different ball game!)

Ah cool, cheers. It's so frustrating having all these different places for apps!

I tried Code::Block but it can't save anything, project or source file

Couldn't save project /media/mmcblk1p1/hello/hello.cbp
(Maybe the file is write-protected?)

Anyone got this message too or am I alone? Would I be better off with another IDE?

thanx

vim+cscope+make = all you need. Maybe chuck some screen in there too.

Torpor: Oh come on! We're talking about IDE here. What you suggest is pretty much 'how to get around without using IDE' :)

gfrancisdev: geany looks cool, thanks, I'll give it a try!

Torpor: Oh come on! We're talking about IDE here. What you suggest is pretty much 'how to get around without using IDE' :)
Vim is an ide : you can build your project using it ([esc]:!make). You can test your project and even debug using it. That pretty much define what an IDE is.

after some testing, geany 0.18 was available as PND, however it was broken; was complaining the config files couldn't be saved/created.

geany 0.19 can also be found as PND and seems to work. However it was flaky and has tendency to shut down unexpectedly.