Mod OpenPandora LCD Screen Accept Video In

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Hồng Thất Công, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Would it be possible to mod the Pandora LCD screen to accept video in?  If so, is there a pin-out for the LCD somewhere?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 28, 2013
    Tags:
  2. dreamer

    dreamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    564
  3. Binky

    Binky Death's Steed Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6,909
    Location:
    16A (TO)
    I'm pretty sure that video-out devices are very differenr to video-in ones...

    Probably. MWeston would know.
     
  4. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,521
    Well yes, it's going to the LCD screen.
    You would have to access it via the LCD cable connection. And it's not like you can directly drive it from a HDMI cable or anything.



    I've had some luck using USB TV tuner/capture devices on the Pandora it may be a solution for you.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2013
  5. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Just checking because if Pandora LCD can take video in, I would mod my Pandy  to have dual screens :)

    Déjà vu  :D  
     
  6. dreamer

    dreamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    This doesn't make any sense.
    1) it doesn't 2) you could do this already, the pandora has a analog tv-out remember?

    USB-capture devices have considerable lag though.

    Why do you even want this? Just get an external monitor that takes analog video in (plenty of those 'headrest monitors' on <insert chinese retailer here>).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2013
  7. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Yes, I remember the pandora has tv-out.  But I wanted the second screen the be exactly the same as the first.  Like you said, I may have to use the tv-out solution but it won't be elegant and nice on the go.

    I want dual screen because Drastic would be awesome.  
     
  8. dreamer

    dreamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Your story still doesn't make any sense.

    'exactly the same as the first' ? I have no idea what you mean by that.

    If you want to use Drastic with two screens, get an external one and plug it in to the tv-out.

    Ducttape or glue it above the pandora if you must.

    I'm not sure what 'if Pandora LCD can take video in' has to do with anything.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2013
  9. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Can you switch your name with mine? I dream too much  :D
     
  10. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    He wants to get a second LCD screen exactly identical to the first and presumably create the circuitry in order to use the TV out on it.

    It isn't that simple. The TV out is an analog composite signal, the LCD is a digital parallel signal. Converting between the two is... difficult. You'd be better off finding a cheap 5" screen that already has some kind of standard video input than trying to do it up yourself.
     
    Binky likes this.
  11. dreamer

    dreamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    No, I think you speak too much :p

    Think before you post .. it would save us a lot of head-scratching ..

    @ WizardStan .. ah ok, same size/type or whatever.

    Yeah just get a cheap 5" 'headrest-monitor' and get rid of the case or something.

    There are different variants of the Pandora LCD anyway.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2013
  12. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    WizardStan read my mind.  Hehehehe  :D
     
  13. T.T.

    T.T. Master of Lightning

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    Somewhere between the Sun and Pluto
    Well there is one way that I can think of, but it involves FPGAs. So yeah, cheap screen is a good choice, maybe a PSOne screen?
     
  14. Wally

    Wally I am a banana! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    What about one of those USB screen thingys?
     
  15. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,649
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  16. dreamer

    dreamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  17. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    Maybe he want to play Nintendo DS like the Real DS :)


    Or he need it for Descent Freespace Multimonitoring :)


    Nice Idea a second Display ;D
     
  18. dreamer

    dreamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    564
    I think the biggest problem with a 2nd display is how to power it when you are on the go.

    Those 'headrest monitors' usually run on 12V. Would be nice to have a 5V one and an extra pandora-battery to power it with or something.
     
  19. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=17651
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2013
  20. Binky

    Binky Death's Steed Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6,909
    Location:
    16A (TO)
    ^ Still runs on 12V
     

Share This Page

Loading...