Mmorpgm

javaJake

Jacob Godserv
Website
myhumblecorner.wordpress.com
40w bulb time! :D

So, I've been looking around for something that was like the RPG Maker. I loved that software, but, like Mario Kart 64, once I found out RPG Maker was illegal, I removed it from my system.

Seeing as there's no alternatives, I'm thinking about starting one. Ludicrous, I know, but it is worth a shot. I think it would be great for the Pandora, GP2X, and any other system that can handle 2D grids and maybe some simple animations (if I can pull that off *shiver*).

I've been programming Java applications for over two years now. I'm good enough to the point where I can pick up new libraries, read their API's and docs, and not need any help getting something rolling. At this point, I think I should learn C if I'm going to do anything fun.

So, I need some pointers to start. I can figure out C's syntax and all, but it's the SDL and Pandora bits that get me. I'd like some nudges in those areas, namely, how to code on the PC with SDL so that it ports to the Pandora (and maybe GP2X, though I won't own one) without much fuss.

Also, sound is a given (I'd love to have background music play based on your current coordinates) but the proper libraries to use is not. Linux has about 300^43 choices in sound systems, and I don't have a clue about where I should go to keep the Pandora port realistic.

If you wanted to sum up my post, it'd be: "HELP!!!" ;)

javaJake said:
So, I've been looking around for something that was like the RPG Maker. I loved that software, but, like Mario Kart 64, once I found out RPG Maker was illegal, I removed it from my system.

Seeing as there's no alternatives, I'm thinking about starting one. Ludicrous, I know, but it is worth a shot. I think it would be great for the Pandora, GP2X, and any other system that can handle 2D grids and maybe some simple animations (if I can pull that off *shiver*).