Mame Help

daclassicgamingmaster

It Is Your Birthday.
Website
krispf3.blogspot.com
ok, so i downloaded win-rar like someone suggested in a previous thread, and I put the actual emulator on my smc. I downloaded a bunch of LEGAL roms from ares p2p, and now i have NO idea what to do!

the roms dont have any .fxe files or anything, it just appears as though they have a bunch of random files shoved into a folder, and when i extract them all to my gpmm/mamegp32/roms folder, the games arent detected. anyone know what the problem is?

edit: what do i need sources for? are they important, and are they a must have? :ph34r: :ph34r:

Did you read the README that came with the MAME pack?

The roms are contained within a .zip file.

Simply put this .zip file in the ROMS folder, as described in the README.

DO NOT UNZIP THESE FILES ... they won't work if you do :)

I'm new to the gp32 scene and don't really have business giving advice, but I can tell you that if it's anything like playing emulators on the pc, it usually works like this: Each emulator file is usually zipped with folders inside it for games. You usually just click and drag the game roms into a designated game folder within the emulator appropriate to it. This could be something you're already way past, but you didn't specifiy so it was just an idea.

Again, I don't know the gp32 specifics, so I can't say with authority. But if it's anything similar, you just need the games to be within the right folders for each emulator and then just begin the emulator like normal.

TelcoLou posted on Sep 15 2005 at 10:27 PM said:
Did you read the README that came with the MAME pack?

The roms are contained within a .zip file.

Simply put this .zip file in the ROMS folder, as described in the README.

DO NOT UNZIP THESE FILES ... they won't work if you do :)
hmmm, very curious. i think you may have just solve my problem :)

thanks to the both of you for the help. im trying it as we speak

Last edited by a moderator: