Making a carbon case?

mclien

Very Active Member
I have some experience with a mold for carbon/glass fiber:
https://hackaday.io/project/2850-wristpda-abacus-battery-upgrade
As you can see if wou read through the project write up, it was quite a run to get it working. I have some parts of the Pandora case lying around and thought it trough a bit. I think it might be able to do, with some restrictions:
I'm aming for doing only 3 parts of the case:
- both halfes of the lower part
- backsite of the screen

All other parts will stay as they are (inner frame of the LCD), battery cover, shoulder buttons, dpad, buttons etc.
Even then it's 3 molds with at least 2 pieces plus some extra parts to pull away (like the holes for LEDs and cable, most difficult the hindge hole).
Even then it's difficult to say, if it will work.

Oh the order in which I would try is:
- LCD backside
- buttom part of the bottom case (where the battery lid snaps in
- upper part of the bottom case (the one with all the holes in it, might fail any way..)

So how man of you would be up for it? That's because I will not start developing molds, if there is only 2-3 intrests.
Let me know what you think and what you think it might pay for it.

I guess the need for a better case is higher for the pandora. I'll wait what EvilDragon will post from formaction. I think it might still be fiber reinforced material for the cases anyway, which makes the pyra cases of hight quality by default, which is different for the pandora.

An old broken pandora would be helpfull, too. Or parts of it.

I wants a transparent case like on my K101 plus..

9871e684f1097180f1d7b926cb2b5c48.jpg

83e30b97ce0a52f158ef0752f9922288.jpg

We need to crowdfund one of these for EvilDragon, make some Titanium or stainless steel cases.

@matzesu once the mold is there, use glassfiber instead of carbon and it should look simmilar. Would test it with glassfiber anyway, costwise.
@TrashyMG Any idea what a maschine like this will cost?