Linux Games

Kumaki

Is it possible to play straight-up Linux games on the Pandy?

I mean, we have a Linux OS, right?

I'm curious, because I have a few such games on my Dingoo...which runs Dingux...which is a version of Linux which runs on the Dingoo. I was sorta wondering if any of those games would work on the Pandy, and how I'd get them there.

Dingoo has a MIPS processor, Pandora's is ARM. Programms compiler for Dingoo won work on Pandora just like that. However most of Dingux aps are open source and thus can be ported.

Last edited by a moderator:
Dingoo has a MIPS processor, Pandora's is ARM. Programms compiler for Dingoo won work on Pandora just like that. However most of Dingux aps are open source and thus can be ported.

Thanks for the info.

I'm no coder, but I was wondering if there was some difference.

I wonder if anyone might be interested in trying their hand at porting a few of these things?

For example, there is one called "Digger" which was also an old arcade game...rather similar to Mr. Do, but a bit different, too. There's a Dingux version of that, I'd love to see that one come to Pandora...anyone interested in helping me out, lol? pweeese?

Also, I'd still love to see a version of Peggle...NOT DEPENDENT ON AN ALTERNATE OS...to run on Pandy.

Notes about "Digger" - there IS a "Digger" that seems to work with MAME...BUT THIS IS NOT THE DIGGER GAME I AM TALKING ABOUT. The one I want is from 1983 by Windmill Software.

Note: I'm really not hip to the idea of trying to mess around with alternate OS's on Pandy.

I mean, yeah, I managed to get Dingux running on Dingoo...BUT I HAVE FOUR OF THEM...so if I had bricked one, no big deal. But I only got one Pandy...and I could buy six Dingoos for the price of one Pandy...so I'm REALLY nervous about screwing it up.

You can safely boot Slackware/Gentoo/Arch/Zaxxon/etc. from a SD card, without any risk.

They are not reflashing the unit, therefore don't touch the NAND, the bootloader, etc...