Release Kroniax

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,283
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is Kroniax, a game based on reflexes that can be similar to FlappyBird.
    [​IMG]
    This is the C++/SFML version, using glshim (there is also a Java/libgdx)

    The game is fast and smooth, even on CC model (I use a 800Mhz overclock, but I think it should be fine at regular 600MHz), and is like if it was designed for the pandora (screen size of the game if 800x450).
    Unfortunatly, the game is unfinished, with only 9 out of 16 levels done (and only 2 out of 4 tutorial levels).
    Still, the game is nice and challenging.

    Instead of Space, you can use (X) also.

    History log
    =========

    Build 02
    -------------

    • Added Tear-free hack
    Build 01
    -------------

    • Initial build
    • Forced fullscreen
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016
  2. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Is that tearing in the screenshot there, or is that intentional aliasing?
     
  3. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,283
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    The tearing is not there in build 02. I have also update the screenshot in the PND (look in the repo), but the board must be using some cache, so it's still the screenshot from build 01 that is there.
     
    levi likes this.
  4. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I tried this out today. I didn't find it nearly as frustrating as Angry Birds, as instead of the 'jump' button pushing you into an immediate upwards jump, the 'action' button just increases your angle of descent, so by modulating the button you can achieve stable flight.

    Consequently I was able to complete the available courses only using two lives. It was perhaps surprising that the first level appears to be identical to the first tutorial level you've just completed. I look forward to more levels with perhaps greater challenge being released.

    Edit: Oh, and it did warn me about not having the required 100 (MB presumably) of memory, only 78, probably because I was downloading updates via PNDManager at the time, but it ran fine for me.
     
  5. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,283
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Glad you liked it :)

    I too prefer this gameplay, with the smooth scrolling it make a nice experience.
    You can complete all 9 levels with loosing just 1 time?! Impressive. If the firsts 4~5 levels are quite easy, it get challenging for the 3 last one. And the zoom/rotation effect are also a nice idea. I don't know if the author is continuing to develop this game. I'll try to contact him...
     
  6. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I died twice in total, I think. Once on the first tutorial level, and once on level 3. I only actually spotted five levels I think; in order, tutorial 1; level 1; level 2; level 3; tutorial 2. Perhaps the lack of memory was a problem? I'll check in a bit.
     
  7. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,283
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    There are 9 levels, but from the menu, at start, you can access up to level 7. I find the later level are challenging (starting from the 7) challenging.
     
  8. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yes, on trying again, I can see all the levels, albeit with Tutorial 2 appearing between level 3 and 4. Both tutorial 1 and tutorial 2 appear to be non-functional anyway, having no length, and simply drop you on to the next level.

    I did find level 7 a bit difficult, especially that last checkpoint that zooms you in. And I've given up at level 9 for now; I spent too long trying to figure out if you could make it outside the track. I did manage once to make it past the corners of the blocks not visibly touching anything, but perhaps I clipped something between that frame and the previous, or perhaps it does have invisible blocks that stop you going that way if you get too far.

    I get a lot of tearing on my TV out unit by the way. It doesn't stop me playing, but I'm relatively immune to tearing, but it's pretty blatant especially when the blocks are green; I noticed it mainly on that level 7 bit where I got stuck.
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,283
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    level 9 is pretty hard, with a long and narow tunnel before the end... but it's the last level for now.

    I don't play on TV. I have noticed (on other game, at the Toulouse Game Show) that there was a delay (but maybe it was the screen used) that can make things difficult to play, especially skill games like this one or BosonX.

    At least there is no tearing and no delay on the Pandora screen...
     
  10. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yeah. It doesn't really affect this game much as your area of focus is pretty close to the ship at most times when there are a lot of obstacles on screen and therefore a lot of tearing. Assuming this runs on my Pyra when I get it, or you port it, I'll have to compare it and see if I'm any better when there's no tearing, again assuming your hack still works there.

    Out of interest, do you know the frequency of the Pandora LCD refresh? I tried running the game in 60Hz NTSC mode, but that doesn't seem to make much difference.
     
  11. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,283
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    By default, the LCD refresh rate is 60 Hz (it can be changed to 50 Hz).
     
  12. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Good news! Updating to 1.74 has fixed the TV out tearing! Perfectly stable frames are now shown on my TV.

    There's an apparently periodic judder in testing, but that was probably there before; I just never noticed with all the tearing. It's no real barrier to play though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...