Installing GPfight and Mill

zenocha

Website
Visit site
Right, this has been posted a lot on the joygp message boards so I thought I'd answer how to fix it here as theres a 200 word lmit there. So, a lot of you have been asking how to solve the problem where you install Mill or GPfight and the instalation freezes. This I think is a problem as Bada (from JoyGP) says to do with the PC-link program and it using up the system resources. Even my pc ground to a halt and its a fairly powerful machine.

Bear with me here, I've never written anything like this before.

Anyway how to solve the problem, well the way I have found is to unpack the .zpk file. So to do this you wil need an extractor tool which is available at Firefly's site:

http://users.skynet.be/firefly/gp32/projec...xtractor_11.zip

You can then use this tool to extract the .zpk into its component parts and install them
individually. To do this open the extractor and go file/open and pick the .zpk, then
go actions/extract and extract the files to where you want.

Okay, thats the extracting out of the way and this is where I will partly have to split the
guide between GPfight and Mill.

GPfight:
Okay this should not be too difficult, go into the pc link program and create a "GPFIGHT"
folder in the "GAME" directory also put the gpfight.gxe in the "GAME" directory next put the gpfight.gxc in the "GPFIGHT" folder (dont worry if you cant see things inside the gpfight folder, but if you really want to click the "refresh" button) next drag each of the folders individually into the "GPFight" folder from the uncompressed .zpk folder (just in case i'll list them so theres no confusion: LOADING, MAINGAME, MENU, MOVIES, PALETTE, SOUNDS) Then, and this is the important part, create a folder "MISC" in the "GPfight" folder. I cant stress this enough as the game wont work wothout the "MISC" folder and this was the main problem I ran into (it had me scratching my head on how to get the game to work for a while)