How Do You Overclock?

Spykez

I found pickles lil overclocking file but I didn't know what to do with it, and I can't seem to find it again lol

yea lol, I actually just found it minutes before your post, but I'm still clueless as how to even run it :p

I'm not a programmer by any means, I'm just a supporter of opensource. (love openoffice on windows)

excuse the hell out of me but reading said readme

Based off code from the libcastor (but does not change the video mode).
This is a standalone binary, it does not rely on any other libs like libcastor.

Usage:
./cpufreq --freq <mhz>
./cpufreq --freq 600

Where <mhz> is the number in mhz

libcastor by Orkie
cpufreq by Pickle

doesn't say WHERE to put it or HOW to run it.

do I rename the file "cpufreq --freq 600" and where the number is change it accordingly or what?

um ok...
lets say you create a folder called cpufreq on your sd card and you copy cpufreq into that folder
the linux os on your wiz see this like this: /mnt/sd/cpufreq (it's called a absolute path)
all applications can be run with something called a script. The contents of one usually look like this:
CODE
#!/bin/sh
./myapp
cd /usr/gp2x/
./gp2xmenu

Say you want to overclock myapp, you need to run cpufreq before hand. So it would become this:
CODE
#!/bin/sh
/mnt/sd/cpufreq/cpufreq --freq 700 //my overclocking application
./myapp //the application being overclocked
cd /usr/gp2x/ // This part reloads the gp2x menu
./gp2xmenu

Lets look at this line in detail
/mnt/sd/cpufreq/cpufreq --freq 700 is the absolute path where to find the program
/mnt/sd/cpufreq/cpufreq --freq 700 is the application your going to run
/mnt/sd/cpufreq/cpufreq --freq 700 is the a parameter to the application, telling it what frequency to set the wiz to.

Other things only use a unix comptaible editor to make your scripts. Always save them with a gpe extenstion.