Hi there!

RuneIV

Hi everyone. I just want to introduce myself to the community.

I recently discovered the Pandora while browsing through lxer.com (and its link to thepowerbase.com review) and immediately fell in love with it. I am a OSX/Linux developer by trade (kernel drivers, applications, libs in the video industry) and think this little Linux computer is absolutely wonderful. Also, after playing a couple of games on my smartphone I discovered that I'm not much of an "on-screen buttons" kind of guy. Gimme some good old hardware interface to control my games.

Alas, with a 5 months old baby girl, cash is a bit tight and I do not have the money to buy a Pandora at hand. I'm already going through my bookshelves for rare items (books or video games) which I might sell online to finance this purchase.

I have a couple of questions though:

- With the 1GHz model being out for a year now, is there another more powerful model in the works? I'd hate it to buy one only to find that a new, better model will come out in six months to a year.

- Anyone know the average shipping cost from Ithic to Canada. If it's pretty high, I'd rather go with the project's creator and support Dragon Box. Especially since I've heard it has awesome customer support.

- Is it pretty much mandatory to get the wifi adapter? Is the on-board wifi that unreliable?

- Is the touch screen really scratch-prone? Or should I really get a screen protector?

Thanks for the answers in advance.

DMK

Last edited by a moderator:
- With the 1GHz model being out for a year now, is there another more powerful model in the works? I'd hate it to buy one only to find that a new, better model will come out in six months to a year.
There's a lot of speculation but as of right now that's all it is. If you take a look at the "Pandora 2 Spam" section below you'll see everyone making their wishlist but there's not likely to be anything new in the next year or two.