Help, If You Can

pike999

Still Fresh
I'm new to the GP2X, but not to emulation etc, so the problem I'm having is starting to concern me. I just can't get any videos to play on my 2x - regardless of format, all i get is 'not recognised'.

I'm after a favour that may help others...

Could someone post on this thread the link to a video file somewhere on the Net that I can download that is KNOWN to work on the 2x, so I can test if my brand new 2x is dead as I suspect.

I'm not asking for a full movie or anything copyright...just a small demo AVI file or whatever, just to test my machine,

Many thanks...

newbiegp2x posted on Aug 23 2006 at 09:28 PM said:
I'm new to the GP2X, but not to emulation etc, so the problem I'm having is starting to concern me. I just can't get any videos to play on my 2x - regardless of format, all i get is 'not recognised'.

I'm after a favour that may help others...

Could someone post on this thread the link to a video file somewhere on the Net that I can download that is KNOWN to work on the 2x, so I can test if my brand new 2x is dead as I suspect.

I'm not asking for a full movie or anything copyright...just a small demo AVI file or whatever, just to test my machine,

Many thanks...

I also had that problem. You need to check if the audio sources aren't OGG or AC3 because the original MP2X player doesn't recognize that.

edit: i see you posted it in the GP32 forum and not in the GP2X forum.

Last edited by a moderator:
That was quick, but I have a model 2 GP2X. I've just found this link. Could I trouble someone to download thesmall file here

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/119383/EN-US/

its called: avisample.exe

Run it and then see if the 2 avi that it produces run on the 2x?

For the avoidance of doubt, I just have and neither file will run yet they are AVI and should work, I'm told...

newbiegp2x posted on Aug 23 2006 at 09:32 PM said: