GPS, compass, etc

Eddward

Still Fresh
From https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/pages/pyra/ t looks like you need the 4G versio to get the gps and other extra sensors. (Stop me here if I'm wrong.)

Do you need to have a sim card to use the non-phone/non-cell network features? (Like, GPS, compass, barometer, etc)

Do you need to have the cellular radio even on?

Sorry if these are stupid questions or if I didn't google enough.

yes, you need the 4G model to have these other sensors.

i'm not an expert on the modem stuff, but i think you should be able to use GPS/compass without the cellular stuff (sim in or radio on). someone more knowledgeable will surely refute or corroborate this.

The GPS module is built into the 4G module. I doubt you need an active sim card in it to use GPS.

The other sensors are completely separate from the 4G module and should work fine with the entire 4G module switched off.

I would also think using the GPS on the mobile chip would work without SIM card. That being said unless somebody tests it or go through the technical doc, it might be difficult to confirm.

I guess another question is how well the GPS will work without Mobile network connectivity. Most phone Geo-localization use a combination of Mobile network and GSM data (as well as nearby Wifi points...) to get your position quicker/ more accurately.

I remember some bad experience with my old Nokia N900. While you could turn on the GPS without any SIM card/ network coverage, it would struggle to get the initial GPS fix (often if was impossible if inside a city). I think those where pretty specific issue down to the hardware and/or software (most likely software from what I remember reading on form but it was never clear to me).

Normally modern GPS can be made sensitive enough to get a fix inside a city. And hopefully the one in the Pyra works properly. As always it might only be depended on the software.