Gpe Palmtop Enviroment For Gp2x (alpha)

Discussion in 'News Zone [GPH]' started by techFreak, Jun 16, 2006.

  1. techFreak

    techFreak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Istanbul, TR
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    The GPE Palmtop Environment provides a user interface environment for palmtop/handheld computers running the GNU/Linux or any other UNIX-like operating system.

    GPE is not a single piece of software, but an entire environment of components which make it possible to use your GNU/Linux handheld for standard tasks such as Personal Information Management (PIM), network access and multimedia and various other purposes. Apart from its main focus to provide a GUI environment for palmtop/handheld computers it is useful on all sorts of mobile devices with only limited resources.

    According to the joey as stated in his web blog:

    "There are lots of things still to be worked on and many things are completely broken and don’t work at all.

    However, AbiWord, Evince (PDF Reader), GAIM (Instant Messaging) and the Dillo web browser are all functional."
    [cut]
    [​IMG]

    Read about it more here:

    http://blog.nemonoid.org/articles/2006/06/...e-alpha-release

    And download the Alpha from these links.

    http://www.filehosting.cc/download.php?id=5AE693E1[/cut]
     
    Tags:
  2. rasterscan

    rasterscan Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Very cool. Does it support a real keyboard?
     
  3. techFreak

    techFreak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Istanbul, TR
    I tried USB Keyboard and Mouse. It didn't work. I don't know this is an issue about GPE or X11. It would be neat to have USB devices working in it.
     
  4. z32fairlady

    z32fairlady Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    I gonna love this one. As it matures it'll mean a great kind-of-PDA toy to me :lol:
     
  5. moz

    moz load *,8,1

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,804
    mmm if only the gp2x had bluetooth or IR for input, mmmm a serial interface mmm ir reciever mmm palm IR keybaord
     
  6. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    You haven't got the latest version there. The later one is supposed to run a bit faster (I've not tried it yet, downloading now).
    http://rapidshare.de/files/23172354/gp2x-g...15.tar.bz2.html

    The USB problems are the fault of my server, not GPE. Hopefully I can sort them out soon.

    EDIT: The new version does run a lot better, but doesn't come with the extra programs like Gaim and AbiWord.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. DBH

    DBH Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    London, England
    So in theory if you plug a USB keyboard straight into the USB port on the GP2X it should work fine for typing and stuff later on?
     
  8. kardasan

    kardasan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Wroclaw, Poland
    is it just me doing something wrong, or the joy-gpm isn't working under gpe?
     
  9. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    gpm shouldn't be there at all any more. I got rid of it in the X server because it slowed everything down.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  10. moz

    moz load *,8,1

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,804
    this is going to be fun :)
     
  11. whiskthecat

    whiskthecat whiskthecat

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    Texas
    How do you work this. There is no readme. :ph34r:
     
  12. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    Just put the folder inside the archive on the root of your SD card after having installed my X server, then run the included gpu from the menu.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  13. whiskthecat

    whiskthecat whiskthecat

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    Texas
    It still doesnt work. I have two folders on my root. x11 and gp2x-gpe. When I run the xserver.gpu I get a silver background with an x for a mouse. When I run the gp2x-gpe.gpu I get a blank black screen. What am I doing wrong?
     
  14. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    You are using the version of GPE that was posted at the top of this thread. Try the one I posted a link to about half way down. Be warned that it will sit on just the X screen for quite a while before GPE starts though.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  15. kardasan

    kardasan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Wroclaw, Poland
    With or without gpm I can now move mouse pointer with joypad. I don't know what I did wrong but after wiping out x11 and gpe and reinstalling the latest version, I can use both of them ^^ yay!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  16. whiskthecat

    whiskthecat whiskthecat

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    Texas
    So with that version I wont be able to use gaim? The main reason I want it is for gaim. Is their any way to make it work with the original link at the begining of this topic?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  17. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    You can try editing the gpu to run Xserver.gpu instead of gp2x11.gpu. That worked for me when I was testing it with a pre-release version of GP2X11 0.2.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  18. Paradox

    Paradox oh em gee

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,748
    Location:
    England
    can you upload it to the archive instead of rapidshit? i cant get anything from there.

    thanks orkie.
     
  19. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    I've not uploaded it anywhere - that was nemonoid, who made it. I think the first version has made it into the archives though. Have a look at the 'recently uploaded' section on the front page. If that is the larger 30MB one on there, you'll need to alter the script slightly to work with the latest X server, as detailed above.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  20. (naw)mcx

    (naw)mcx Rotary Wombat

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,918
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Arrrrrg Black screen of death
     

Share This Page

Loading...