Git not working on Pandora

Discussion in 'Support Area' started by Kelvin, Jan 29, 2019.

  1. Kelvin

    Kelvin Pixel Mercenary

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    So I installed Git directly from the command line, and it seems to work normally with one exception: no networking. When I try to pull or push, I get this error: "gnutls_handshake() failed: A TLS fatal alert has been received while accessing <repo URL>"

    If I use the version that comes with the C/C++ dev tools PND, it works fine, but that takes forever to load, and I can't use it from the shell with "Open terminal here", which means having to go to each of my repos from the command line, and that takes forever. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
    Tags:
  2. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,308
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  3. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Where are your remote repos stored? Maybe our native TLS implementation is too aged, or maybe the remote server is doing something strange.
     
  4. Kelvin

    Kelvin Pixel Mercenary

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    128
  5. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Hmm, doesn't look significantly problematic. The root cert is old enough.

    I wonder can you curl or wget* that url? Does it work or give the same error? If it errors it's likely a system error rather than a git error.

    * I forget which the Pandora has
     
  6. Kelvin

    Kelvin Pixel Mercenary

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Shoot, it's not git. I got the same errror with curl.
     
  7. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Okay, that might be an easier fix. Can you see if inside /etc/ssl/certs you have a file called DigiCert_High_Assurance_EV_Root_CA.pem ? If not, and you have an updated linux machine handy, you could try copying it there.

    Older machines that don't get regular updates often find ssl stuff breaks in my experience. Killed web browsing on my old phone, for example, and getting new certs onto that OS was a lot harder than it is with Linux.
     
  8. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi,

    @Kelvin : did you already try this ?
    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  9. HelenF

    HelenF Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    UK
    Try changing "https" to "git" in the URL.
     

Share This Page

Loading...