Gimp, Blender, Openoffice, Wacom Tablet

-Tj-

Hey everyone! I've been watching Pandora's progress off-and-on for a while now, but recently my interest in it has grown to the point where I want to buy one. However, aside from the fact that it's now sold out till the 2nd batch, I have some questions about it that I haven't really been able to find answers for.

I understand some form of Ubuntu could be run on it, but I have no Linux experience. Figured I'd ask my questions where the experts would be.

So, could these work on Pandora: Gimp, Blender, OpenOffice, Linux Wacom drivers?

My idea is to have Pandora mainly as a game/multimedia machine, but if it can do any of the above I could also have it replace my WinMo phone for certain jobs (then get a much cheaper phone that does less).

Last question's kind of just of the "could it be done" sorts: could it run a build of Windows Mobile? I'm looking at the ARM-based processor as the reasoning behind this question, and I know there's a lot more to it than just that, but it'd be awesome if I could have Pandora running all the WinMo apps I use most often.

craigix said:
Yes it can run those programs, but there is no windows support.
I believe that craigix refers to Windows x86 here; it will be impossible to run Windows x86 programs, but WinME (not millenium edition :)) could theoretically run.

You'd be on your own if you'd want to install it, however, since there really aren't any others interested in running ME on the Pandora. Linux has alternatives to all of the applications that WinME would provide for you, so unless there's some really important application that only exists for ME and is really unique and must-have for you, then there wouldn't really be a reason to install ME (it would for example not have WiFi or 3D drivers so it's not really a compelling alternative to Linux)

Last edited by a moderator: