1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

General Linux Help Question

Discussion in 'Offtopic Discussions' started by rand, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. rand

    rand Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    What Linux distros can I install on my computer that require only one primary partition? My laptop already has 3 primary partitions, so I have issues when I try to dual boot it with openSUSE.
     
  2. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    You can configure every linux distro to only use one partition.
    Have a look at ubuntu and wubi and you won't need any new partition and can install it to a file from windows.
     
  3. ghostpatch

    ghostpatch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    Germany
    any Linux, - you just need to configure it. Some graphical installers are a pain in the ass though.

    Its probably not openSUSE's fault but I have problemes booting my Slackware distribution ("Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)") on my laptop, since I installed openSUSE12.2. Haven't looked into it yet but I guess its because I installed LILO on the root partition and not the MBR. Any ideas? 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2013
  4. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,108
    Boot the Slack cd, mount the partition on /mnt, lilo -C /mnt/etc/lilo.conf

    Then boot Slack, add the entry for SuSE, lilo again.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2013
  5. ghostpatch

    ghostpatch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    Germany
    will do,

    thank you sir  ; )
     
  6. rand

    rand Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    My typical set up was Ubuntu dual booted with Windows, but I wanted to switch to Chakra or openSUSE using my one primary partition left that had been occupied by Ubuntu.

    EDIT: Also, I want to try to avoid using slackware and install it using Tribe (which may eat my hamster :( ).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2013

Share This Page