Release Firefox 20 in repo

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by hdonk, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. hdonk

    hdonk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    561
    As usual, please test!
     
    Tags:
  2. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    Germany
    As usual, great news!

    EDIT:

    In PND Manager it's still called Firefox 19.0

    EDIT 2:

    Seems to work fine.

    :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2013
  3. NoeleyC

    NoeleyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,348
    Does this have that new flash plugin in it?(not downloaded it yet)

    Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. Loonie

    Loonie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    753
    Wow, that was quick. I wasn't even aware a new Firefox was out and there's already a PND. Thanks for your fast and continued support. I shall of course test-drive this immediately.
     
  5. dgame

    dgame Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    To disable  this click to activate plugin message:

    [​IMG]

        In the Firefox address bar, type "about:config" and press "enter".
        A caution box stating "This might void your warranty..." will pop up.
        Select the "I'll be careful. I promise." box by left-clicking your mouse.
        In the search box, type "extensions.blocklist.enabled" and press "enter".
        If the line is present, it should have the boolean value "true".
        If the value is "true", toggle the value to "false" by double-clicking the line.
     
    amyren and Binky like this.
  6. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    Germany
    ^

    Thanks man.

    :)  
     
  7. Luz

    Luz Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    so now we have just activated a vulnerable plugin? imo not the best fix...

    shouldnt we try to replace the so-file?


    wget http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.2.202.275/install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
    tar -xf install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz
    sudo cp libflashplayer.so /mnt/utmp/hdonk_firefox_001/lib/firefox-19.0/plugins/libflashplayer.so
    cp: cannot create regular file `/mnt/utmp/hdonk_firefox_001/lib/firefox-19.0/plugins/libflashplayer.so': Operation not permitted
     
    however its not working, if someone knows the solution, please tell me! a proper firefox package would be even more awesome!
     
  8. pmprog

    pmprog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,792
    Well, looks like you're downloading the x86 version. You need an ARM build for the Pandora.
    However, didn't Adobe say they weren't supporting mobile (ie ARM) devices any more. In other words, if not already, you'll only ever have an outdated version
     
  9. Luz

    Luz Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    thanks for the infos, well then the solution of dgame is perfect!
     
  10. amyren

    amyren Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks, it works here.

    I noticed that the about firefox still says 19.0, but after restarting the pandora it now shows 20.0

    And I still cant get xmarks to install. It says 

    "Xmarks could not be installed because Firefox cannot modify the needed file"

    Is it a permission problem? Or is there a way to install it manually?

    I tried some different firefox versions and xmarks versions, but still the same problem. I did try the Slackware OS that comes with firefox 18.0, and there xmarks installed and synced without problems.
     
  11. superatarian

    superatarian Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Well I fired up version 20 and it loaded in and my homepage came pretty fast. Worked nice with my NAS drive software also (a little slow, but still ok to use). I went to the Pandora homepage and could get the video, but did get the sound. Anything else I need to do here?
     
  12. mono

    mono Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    83
    fullscreen video (youtube etc.)! nice! seems to be faster. thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2013
  13. Berni11

    Berni11 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    I tried a HTML 5 video on youtube. The video itself plays but I have just for about one sec sound? Anyone knows how to solve this problem?
     

Share This Page

Loading...