Fenix Questions

Shaun

Hi, you may have seen me on some of the main forums. I bought a GP2X and got it on Saturday, and I was a previous GP32 owner. I always was interested in Fenix but never ventured into it. I've made some previous games with Multimedia Fusion and I've always wanted to make a handheld game. The fact that I'm getting into pixel art now is another plus. But I'd like to know some things...

- Is Fenix suitable for most game types, including a side-scrolling shooter?

- How easy is it to use, and is there a programming language it could be compared to?

- What other platforms could I compile my games for?

I'm also a beginner with Visual Basic. I know it's not the most advanced language, but it's a start I guess. If you could get me started here I'd appreciate it. I just hope this is the right forum. ;)

I am not a programmer (though I know C & C#), nor have I started developing for the GP2X; however, I've done enough reading to know this:
  1. Is Fenix suitable for most game types, including a side-scrolling shooter?
    Yes. (assuming you aren't lumping something silly in there, such as FPS, which is a very common game-type these days)
  2. How easy is it to use, and is there a programming language it could be compared to?
    Supposedly the whole point is that it's easier for beginners. It can be compared to BASIC or Visual Basic, I believe.
  3. What other platforms could I compile my games for?
    With Fenix? I can't find the answer to that, but I did find the Fenix stuff in the archive and EvilDragon's Tutorial Chapter 2.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not a programmer (though I know C & C#), nor have I started developing for the GP2X, however, I've done enough reading to know this:
  1. Is Fenix suitable for most game types, including a side-scrolling shooter?
    Yes. (assuming you aren't lumping something silly in there, such as FPS, which is a very common game-type these days)