F200 & Cradle Problems

NEIL L

Hi, I'm new to the GP2X forums (but an old hand on the Wiz one!)

I recently bought a used F200 and cradle but I'm having a few problems with both of them:

1. The F200 isn't giving out any sound from either of the speakers but there's sound from the headphones (when plugged in) and from the TV through the cradle.
I opened the back to remove the rubber flap on the bottom (which causes an obstruction on the cradle) and checked that both speakers are plugged in to the motherboard. (They are!)

2. TV out doesn't seem to be working, I can get sound through the TV and the USB ports work on the cradle, but all I'm getting on the TV is the occasional flash of scrolling colour with the GP2X menu showing through! (I'm using a S-video to composite lead and tried it on every TV in the house!) This has now been sorted, thank you. :) Number 1 hasn't though! :(

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers, Neil

disconect the speakers and test them with something. The circuit that provides sound to the speakers and the cradle is the same (both pass through the headphones jack) , so is you have sound in the TV and plug the headphones, you should have sound in the headphones, but the TV should go mute.

and as for the TV out, check if the S-Video - Composite adapter is mixing croma and luma together (if using the 20µf ceramic capasitor better) , and both gournds to. It happened to me that if i didn't use both grounds, the gp2x would freeze and the tv signal would die (black screen).

PD: have you tried both, NTSC and PAL-M?

Thanks for the quick reply. :)

I'll open it back up and check the speakers and I've ordered an S-video to S-video cable, I'll give that a go. (I've tried with both NTSC & PAL.)
The GP2X doesn't freeze though as I can sometimes make out the menu screen and I can change the menus.

I'll let you know how I get on, Neil