Elite

Discussion in 'I need help' started by atmosphereart, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. atmosphereart

    atmosphereart Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    hello folks another amatuer question but whats the easiest and best way to get the old classic "elite" for the gp2x? kinda the main reason i got the thing in the first place but am stumped and clueless ?

    cheers people :huh:
     
    Tags:
  2. Daid

    Daid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I see no elite port/clown in the archives. Maybe it's a rom of some system? Or it runs in dosbox?
     
  3. b._.o._.b

    b._.o._.b Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159
    You could search for elite in the forum, there are quite a few threads about it. I thought the NES elite version was pretty good (not played it myself)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  4. Gruntfuggly

    Gruntfuggly Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    I don't think NES Elite works properly in any of the GP2X emulators. It was perfect on the GP32 though.

    You could try it in beebem - if you come up with a decent keyboard set up, please post it...
     
  5. leggymcjeggy

    leggymcjeggy Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Back when I had an Amiga, people raved about this game (and it's sequel, Frontier) Never played it myself but i suggest going for the adf version!
     
  6. imhotep

    imhotep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    641
    Anyone tried 'Elite - The New Kind'?

    It's a remake using reverse engineered code and updated graphics. There is a GP32 and GBA version amongst others.

    Some info here http://www.newkind.co.uk/games/
     
  7. col_bluff

    col_bluff Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Elite was released on the BBC micro, Spectrum, C 64 and Atari St. So you should be able to run one of the emu's with it loaded in. Atari ST version is good.
     
  8. slaanesh

    slaanesh Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Not true. Gpfce runs NES Elite perfectly. I don't think notaz would have had it any other way.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  9. imhotep

    imhotep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    641
    That's good. No need for a virtual keyboard.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  10. Gruntfuggly

    Gruntfuggly Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    I stand corrected - the NES version is definitely the easiest to play on a handheld because it's already set up to use a d-pad. Ian Bell has said it's the best emulatable (?) version too...
     
  11. WhizzBang

    WhizzBang Grotesque Peasant

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Location:
    Last week
    I belive the GBA version (Elite - A New Kind) is the best one. It uses a very similar control scheme to the NES but looks better and plays like the BBC original.
    There is also Elite AGB for the GBA. This is an enhanced version of Elite with lots of new ships, weapons, missions, etc and is also very good but is quite hard.
    Both of these GBA remakes were done by Quirky.

    If you don't want to go down the GBA route then NES is the next best option for a handheld. It is a bit easier than the original Elite and you can pay to dock if you don't have a docking computer. It is difficult to use any of the home computer versions of Elite on the GP2x due to the huge number of keys required to play the game.
     
  12. Hokum

    Hokum Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Shame that the Arch emu isnt working properly, as the Archemedies version is by far the most feature filled version. Would be cool to play Elite Frontier on the amiga emu though :)
     
  13. atmosphereart

    atmosphereart Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    cheers people. hopefully can get something working. bit new to gp2x so no doubt will ass it up :unsure:
     

Share This Page

Loading...