dsplink

Discussion in 'NEON / DSP' started by notaz, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,913
    Location:
    Lithuania
    I've noticed it compiles out-of-the-box in OE (despite the mumblings about old kernel that I keep hearing), so here are the ipks in case anyone wants to try anything:


    http://notaz.gp2x.de...nd/dsplink/hf6/


    the modules seem to load and /dev/dsplink appears, test programs in /usr/share/ti/dsplink/ seem to work. Not sure what memory map is set there, I think the tests run directly from DSP's RAM/cache.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2011
    Tags:
  2. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,747
    Location:
    France
    Now I want to see WizardStan play with this ;)
     
  3. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    Ooooh interesting


    Sent from my Windows Phone 7 device using Board Express
     
  4. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank's notaz B)


    I don't know how to properly use it...but thank's a lot
     
  5. ibisum

    ibisum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,135
    This is great notaz, thanks for doing that .. might be time to dust off the ol' DSP compiler ..
     
  6. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    does this mean we should get improved video playback if DPS is used?
     
  7. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,747
    Location:
    France
    ^^ once the codec are licenced....
     
  8. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    which im guessing would be.... never?
     
  9. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Wasn't there some open gstreamer codec stuff?
     
  10. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    And does it already work on the Pandora? Or better, does it already "automaticly" speed up something or must every programm first adjusted to the DSP?
     
  11. bzar

    bzar A Commando

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    Finland
    It does not automatically speed stuff up. It must be excplicitly used in the code.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2011
  12. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,713
    :eek:


    I tried! Seriously. It returned so many errors. I spent 20 minutes fixing them before I had to stop and couldn't muster the will to go back and finish. That you just got it to work right out of the box makes me angry for reasons I do not fully comprehend. :wacko:


    Don't know when I'll have a chance to try this though, not entirely sure what it will do. As far as I know, the only thing currently built to use DSP at all is Flash (the change log says it detects if DSP is available and uses it if it can), but can't tell if it needs anything extra (codecs, configurations, etc...) or if it will just work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2011
  13. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    wizardStan please investigate the flash thing and let us know :)
     
  14. Dark_Link

    Dark_Link Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    nice and for those wondering how to install or use these files just do sudo opkg install /pathtofileone /you get it its easy to insall as you can just type in sudo opkg install drag file one onto terminal press space drag file 2 press space etc..should some apps see the speed boost already like video apps or music apps?


    edit i think it works? mplayer is able to play flac with my main core at 125 mhz with no issue or slow downs slight choppiness every once awhile


    edit ahh no choppiness when playing with rocketbox with the other gui
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2011
  15. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053
    Licensing? Don't you already have the right to use the chip, since it's in the Pandora?
     
  16. gunrock

    gunrock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    The Nokia N900 has a custom official version of VLC that uses the DSP. I wonder if it could be compiled for Pandora.


    Hold on, some googling has suggested that N900 uses DSP-Task and not DSP-Link that we're using....
     
  17. Letalis Sonus

    Letalis Sonus Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    It's about the codecs, not the hardware.
     
  18. gunrock

    gunrock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    yeah, but surely VLC already can decode those using it's own or other free software, thus it'd be interesting to see what parts of VLC were dsp accelerated. It could just be the deblocking or colour space transformations which are similar in concept between say MPEG-2 and MPEG-4 video, thus reusable.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...