Developers will start porting psx games? how?

Discussion in 'I need help...' started by Shadow of Chaos, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. Shadow of Chaos

    Shadow of Chaos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    South wales, UK.
    I heard on a website that developers are in fact going to port PSX games onto Gp32, i would love to see some great games on it such as PSX extreme games or something it was called.

    Anyway.. how are they going to do this considering the size of a SMC card can only go up to 128mb for the gp32? i mean, it sounds great but ps1 game is on a full cd and im guessing most games fill up the cd or are around 400-500mb's a piece, so either their going to downsample them somehow or their actually going to rewrite all the code.

    Other than that the site must have been talking utter bollocks.. though it seemed official.

    Any thoughts?!
     
    Tags:
  2. benthai98

    benthai98 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    I don't know how and don't really care. :p

    It will be exceptionally cool to get some parasite eve action going on though.

    Ben
     
  3. angrypants

    angrypants GP OG

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    The games won't be ports they will be remakes.
     
  4. Rambozo

    Rambozo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    No, they likely will be ports in the same vein of the Pocketpc port of Tomb Raider 1.

    If you strip a PS1 game of the FMVs and compress all the audio into OGGs, you could easily fit one on an SMC. I wouldn't be surprised if yuo could get most games down to around 64 megs.
     
  5. washo

    washo Washo 4 evr

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    France (Marseille)
    I agree with U Rambozo... :)
    Size can be reduced a lot.
    E.g. : Parasite Eve, which has been referenced up, is only between 200 & 400 megs
    'coz all the videos are not so compressed and all the game is in both CDs....
    But remember that this one use the same 3d engine as FF8 & I think it'll be hard to port a full 3d engine.....but this is the game I want most ;)
    see you
     
  6. Swiss_Cheeseman

    Swiss_Cheeseman SwissCM

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    873
    I once got Ridge Racer (the first one) down to 2 megs. Thats the entire game.
     
  7. DuderJace

    DuderJace Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Parasite eve never came out here in the UK. Parasite eve 2 did, but it didn't seem right to buy it without seeing the first one, er, first :) It looked amazing. Not fair really :( Should buy an import and try it on an emulator i spose. Jace
     
  8. extremegamer

    extremegamer Guest

    Most N64 games were 64mb-128mb even less per game, and N64 had alot of great games. it is possible to port or make a great game using 128mb. That is lot more memory than any other cartridge system out or was out.
     
  9. Swiss_Cheeseman

    Swiss_Cheeseman SwissCM

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    873
    Actually most were 8-16MB
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  10. Jorg

    Jorg Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Netherlands and Belgium
    1 mbyte = 8 mbit, i guess. so you're both right then ey :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  11. nerd of nerds

    nerd of nerds w00t!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    838
    i believe that we could get (if the source were available) fpse arm running at 10ish fps ;) but the source isn't available. maybe if we asked REALLY nice they would take the time to port it to a "proper" system, pocket pcs suck for gaiming in my opinion. on the fpse arm site they have videos of ff7 running in a battle 40 fps :blink: it may be fake tho....
     
  12. unlucky

    unlucky Chop sticks Chop sticks Chops sticks

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    to have that working would be the most crazy thing just well ever
     
  13. unlucky

    unlucky Chop sticks Chop sticks Chops sticks

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    w8 w8 w8 so lets say they could optimise for just 2d games that would just be amazing. Because well firstly metal slug x at 10 fps or so would be a bit jittery but still very cool. Buttttt command and conquer ! wooh ! at most fps's is quite playable ! :)
     
  14. Dozer

    Dozer Efram the retarded rabbit

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,034
    Location:
    Exeter
    But i thought that up to now that all roms had to be loaded into the memory. so only the smallest games would fit. Unless a way to stream from the smc was developed.
     
  15. Tobriand

    Tobriand Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Croydon (UK)
    You're right. But you're also wrong. Roms have to be loaded in their entirety, but that's because swapping data without knowing which bit is which is pretty darn hard - far easier to just read the whole thing. And a lot faster.

    Ports, on the other hand, have no such restrictions. Just d/l that "Ah! My goddess GP" and play for a bit. You'll notice fairly shortly that that is 32 megs or so. The restriction only applies to emulated stuff. And these would be ports and/or remakes. So you could get quite a lot in there!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  16. nerd of nerds

    nerd of nerds w00t!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    838
    well how do they get 100+mb games into a pocket pc's 32-64mb of memory? ;) someone said they got a game to 2mb (i'd like to see that...)
     
  17. Dozer

    Dozer Efram the retarded rabbit

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,034
    Location:
    Exeter
    ah rite sorry, i thought you were talkin about somethin to play hacked playstation games, not remakes. I get ya now.
     
  18. unlucky

    unlucky Chop sticks Chop sticks Chops sticks

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    Surely there is a way 2 stream off the smc especiall if its a cd based system. As on the system itself its streamed straight off an external device + in the case of the playstation it didn't have much memory i dont think. I dont really no what i'm talking about but people like ryleh + zardoz jones always seem 2 prove people wrong with whats possible
     
  19. jegHegy

    jegHegy Now on LSD!

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Hungary
    SMC input/output would probably be too slow to stream from. however, i heard something about rlyeh hacking gcc/ads a bit and making smc operations faster. so who knows? ;]
     
  20. Zeuss

    Zeuss Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Well as far as i know. The PS1 had somin like 2mb of ram. and somin like a 50mhz processor.

    The n64 was 90mhz but had a proper 3d graphics card in it. but i think with the expansion back it had a max of 8mb of ram. (This is megabytes)

    This is stretching my memory, but the gp32 is plenty capable of all the ps1 games. And maybe some n64 ones too. Half-life needed a p133 with 24mb of ram. to run at all of 10fps if you were lucky. The gp32 is dedicated hardware, lets talk to valve :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...