Collecting Wishlists For A 2d Game Development System

White Flame

Still Fresh
Hi, I'm a professional software developer, and for quite a while I've been wanting to create my own 2d game development system as a side project. I've played around with things like RPG/adventure makers and various graphics/game engines, but they're either too simplified & incapable, or too low-level requiring you to build everything from scratch given basic drawing primitives.

I have come up with my own large documents of design ideas, but I would very much enjoy the input of others before starting actual implementation. There are some great graphicians here, and some great ideas that seem to be stifled by the difficulty of sitting down with just C/SDL/OpenGL or even basic engines with a blank slate and trying to connect a path to the visualized game. I think something like this could be a great complement to the Pandora, and expand to other (reasonably powerful) platforms.

I would like to realize a system with a free capable version, and a $20 full quality, all bells and whistles included, super-optimized system with nice complementary editors and tools that you have free reign to do whatever you want with the generated output. (The initial versions will be totally free of charge until it's something truly commercial quality and worth the $20)

So, to the actual design of this thing.