Christmas Present Advice :)

jakeboi

Still Fresh
Hello all !

I found out about the gp2x just this morning and after looking for hours on the internet for a possible Christmas gift after being badgered for weeks by my dad.

Anyway not long ago I was reading about messing around with my DS to run homebrew apps, movies and emulators etc.. I have a PSP and never use it and also im a poor student so im not into paying 30 pounds for a hand held game..

basically what i'm saying is - is there a big advantage to paying 130 pounds to get a gp2x over paying about 40 and modifying my DS.

Sorry if this has been asked before but im not after a DS .vs. gp2x topic im just after your oppinions on this subject..

thanks

Jake

I'm not familiar with the DS but is your PSP homebrew capable? There are some fantastic emulators available for it. Unless you are into developing I don't think you would gain much by dropping an extra £130.

Well i'ts my younger Bro's PSP and I dont wanna risk busting it and I know that as soon as he sees me using it it will be stolen off of me because he'll be interested again,

No im not interested that much in developing but i like the idea of running homebrew and stuff..

If you enjoy a bit of retro-ness then you will enjoy the GP2x. Plus there's no risk of bricking it just to get homebrew to run. For me though, the community surrounding the GP2x is one of its best qualities. I dunno if that is something that is important to you?

Im deffinatley into the community side of things yea!

altho I'm a little scared of the whole thing collapsing like the Gizmondo thing :S

Yeah, but that won't happen. Though I almost bought a Giz... When I checked for new games and suddenly gizmondo.com was down.. A few days later I read the owner of gizmondo had contacts with the mafia and the company went bankrupt :lol: