Beginning A Zelda-style Rpg Game

javaJake

Jacob Godserv
Website
myhumblecorner.wordpress.com
I'm not really sure if this is the right community to be asking these sorts of questions. Everyone seems so knowledgeable and helpful in the Development forum, that it seems like it's the place to be if you want your questions answered. ;)

If there's a different place I should visit instead, I'll be happy to move my post elsewhere.

I'm looking into writing my first real game, and I want to write it primarily for the Pandora and its control scheme. I attempted an MMORPG, but after two years of development, life did it's curve-ball thing, and I ended up canceling the project. I got discouraged. The GUI was only just starting to appear, I could never explain the game idea, it being unique enough, so I never got feedback (at all), and I had been using Java for 4-5 years, and I knew if I wanted to expand my specialized toolbox, I needed to get a project in something like C++.

So, here I am. A Java developer who's only just learned the fundamental C++ concepts, and he wants to start writing code for a game in a few months. :)

My biggest obstacles, and what I need your assistance with, are the following:
  • I'm looking for a game engine with the following features:Entirely event-based game engine. For example, if any character moves a pixel, an event is fired. If a gun shot expires, an event is fired. A timer concludes, an event is fired.
  • Every AI object that runs within this engine should all have an array/vector/variable that it writes state information too, so it can be saved and loaded easily to and from save-states.
  • I'd like any AI object to be available to any other AI object via the game engine for inter-AI communication. The GUI should be layer-based, and allow the manipulation of pixels for different effects, like fog, distortions, etc. I would like the layer priority, and perhaps even the event system to be relative instead of numeric.