Argh -- Please Help This Is Driving Me Potty!

gam35guru

Still Fresh
Im looking for advice on how to and where to get roms to play on the emulators supplied on several of the gp2x related sites. For example I wanna use MAME or squidgesnes 0.37a, maybe even the megadrive/mastersystem emulator -- thats all fine n dandy, I can start those on me GP2X --- but where the hell do I get the games? Hahahaha. Everyone is wittering on about here is the emulators have fun, but I cant find the source for the games to use in conjunction with the emulators advertised.

Please, Im in desperate need and Im a GP2X fan and newbie. What a combination =)

Anything you can do to help me would be deeply appreicated, Im losing my mind trying to find these damn games and to get them working. I found a game from romworld.com for MAME -- but when I put the game in the roms folder insider the MAME folder which is on my SD card which is in my GP2X. It keeps saying Error: no games found. BUT IT'S RIGHT THERE!

On my gp2x sd card my folder for my MAME emulator is:

Games/MAME/

And my roms folder is:

Games/MAME/roms

I assume this is right, and each game in the roms folder has its own folder too. So for the practice game lets say 1946 or w/e, it'd be :

Games/MAME/roms/1946/

Why aint this working, why cant it find my games? And where do I download the appropriate roms for squidgesnes.... Im also looking for the roms compatible to gp2x for sonic/mario/anything like that. Of course I'll use each in conjunction with the applicable emulator.

Many Thanks Guys.
A n00b....

gamesguru posted on Oct 31 2006 at 10:39 AM said: