Amgia Aga For Pandora?


GonzoUK

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
19
Hi,

I see the Amiga will be emulated on the Pandora and now with a keyboard it really will open the market more for people to buy ones of these. Anyway will the Amiga AGA be possible on the Pandora?

I remember a game called Exile AGA that was amazing and it had so many keyboard functions. Thing is I have the game files onmy PC ready, but have no keyboard instructions :S
 

GonzoUK

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
19
Squidge said:
Gonzouk said:
will the Amiga AGA be possible on the Pandora?
Yes. It's also possible on the GP2X.


I sure need one now! hopefully out soon!

Did the GP2x f200 do AGA/CD32?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

White Demon

Sandy Wich's Boy
Joined
Sep 16, 2004
Messages
842
Location
South Australia
Website
Visit site
Squidge said:
Gonzouk said:
will the Amiga AGA be possible on the Pandora?
Yes. It's also possible on the GP2X.


But was it done on GP2X? I don't remember seeing it.

I hope it comes out (on Pandora) with an option to allocate more memory to Amiga RAM (I'll need more than the standard 2MB)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

craigix

Mega GP Mania
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,010
Location
England
Website
twitter.com
AGA emulation should be great, for me it's one of the things I'm most looking forward to. I saw my Amiga in the loft the other day - but it's just too big to get down and set up these days, having an amiga 1200 the size of the Pandora used to be a dream of mine.
 

Firefox

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
443
Location
Sheffield, England
Website
Visit site
I had a temp job diagnosing and fixing Amiga 1200 main boards way back when! Very cool machines, the design was really ingenious.

I especially liked how there were separate buses on either side of the AGA chipset, one for the AGA chips and one for the CPU (a 68EC020 IIRC). I remember on the unexpanded model the processor used to borrow some of the video RAM (well, media RAM) by bridging through one of the AGA chips (I've forgotten their names I'm afraid).

*But*, if you added CPU-side RAM the machine could run much faster because the CPU and the AGA chips each had their own RAM on their own bus, instead of the CPU having to wait all the time for little bits of leftover bandwidth when the AGA chips weren't drawing the display or playing sounds.

It was a very clever way (for the time) to allow the base machine to be produced at a reasonable cost whilst boosting performance as well as memory capacity if you splashed out on a RAM expansion.

B)
 

ldesnogu

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
1,049
Age
53
Location
France
Website
Visit site
I think FastRAM (as opposed to ChipRAM) already existed in the Amiga 1000 :)
There's no doubt the Amiga HW was a piece of art!
 

GonzoUK

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
19
Firefox said:
I only ever worked on the 1200, but it doesn't surprise me that the earlier generation of Amigas had the same basic architecture. :)

I loved my 1200, I played Exile AGA, Syndicate Wars AGA!! Just loved them, to be able to play them again will be so good.

Other games I loved and will play again, when I get a Pandora or GPX2 are:

Turricans
Kick Off games
Last Ninja's
Monkey Islands
Flash Back

I could play them on this laptop, but to have a sole device to do all of this, plus MAME, C64, SNES, Megadrive sounds amazing!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Prophet

God I'm old.
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
1,712
Website
Visit site
I had an original Amiga 1000 with 1080 monitor.

It was so wonderful... especially back in 84/85. Sadly, it's all gone now. All I have left is the monitor and it's dying.

But yeah, I will definitely use the Pandora for some Amiga emulation.
 

GonzoUK

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
19
Prophet said:
I had an original Amiga 1000 with 1080 monitor.

It was so wonderful... especially back in 84/85. Sadly, it's all gone now. All I have left is the monitor and it's dying.

But yeah, I will definitely use the Pandora for some Amiga emulation.
One device for all, though I#m still looking at my old laptop to start using emulators with.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

WarmFluffyUK

The Big Wad Bolf.
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
3,384
Location
UK
Website
www.retrotech.one
Here's some Amiga trivia for you, the original A500 motherboard had B52/Rock Lobster etched onto it. One of the designers was obviously a fan :).

Addition: Click HERE to see an image of it, it's just below the Agnus chip.
 

ldesnogu

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
1,049
Age
53
Location
France
Website
Visit site
WarmFluffyUK said:
Here's some Amiga trivia for you, the original A500 motherboard had B52 Rock Lobster etched onto it. One of the designers was obviously a fan :)
An image is worth a thousand words: click me.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Prophet

God I'm old.
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
1,712
Website
Visit site
I guess this is well known, but the Amiga 1000 had the signatures of all the Amiga designers actually molded into the underside of the casing.

You had to take the computer apart to see it (which I did one day for some reason and found the signatures by accident). It blew me away at the time, and at first I thought I'd somehow gotten some special edition Amiga or something.

I miss those days when new computers had such unique personalities, both inside and outside.
 

gaterooze

Coltrane Sundia
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
2,723
Website
Visit site
Prophet said:
I miss those days when new computers had such unique personalities, both inside and outside.
Those days could be here again ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top