All Musicians

lubidog

Okay, so if any of you budding pop stars out there could give me a little help it would be great!

I want to buy a digital piano, and a new computer with a really good usb external sound card and the best software there is to link them all together! I would like to be able to create at the end of the day high quality 'pop' music with all this. I am a musician, so the thing I really need help with is what sort of Digital Piano, whether a mac is better than windows, if I get Sibelius can I then multi layer (?) instrument solos without actually having these instruments (ie.make a sax solo without being able to play or even have one...) and then record them all together.

Of course the digital piano needs to be linked...

I have looked at some of these external usb soundcards, and they look fantastic!

I know I am a beginner, but want the best, is Sibelius really the best, or is that only good for classical music?

Any help much appreciated!

Cheers

Lub!

although usb sound devices are getting better. I always found pci cards with an external BOB to be the best.

I used a Sound blaster audigy2 platinum Ex to plug in in my guitar and i got very little unwanted distortion through my crappy speakers (about the same as a cheap amplifier).

i think the the Soundblaster X-fi Elite pro is the newest external pci with the features you require.

That looks fantastic, but I will probably get a laptop.... If I can...

Many thanks for the reply. Any idea on Software?

i highly recommend getting a mac for music creation - i use a macbook

as for software i currently use Propellerheads Reason 3.0 and Steinberg Cubase SX 3 and i highly recommend them. together they can do everything you're likely use, plus a few hundred other things. its expensive stuff though.