Adequate for note taking?

zonova

Hey everyone:

I'm thinking I'll get a new laptop sometime within the next 6 months. I'm partly considering something like the Microsoft surface, as I really like the tablet-pen functionality. It's not that I plan on taking all of my notes on the device, but I like taking notes on the pdf's of papers I am reading, and I want to be able to write up a quick math derivation and send it to a peer. However, I also have been waiting for the Pyra and would really like to get one. Do you think the Pyra will be good at handling these types of tasks comfortably? Or will the screen be too small?

Thanks!

I feel like the screen will probably be fine as long as you have good eyesight.

Ive been using my pandora to take notes on conferences since I have it (2010). But thats just typing... I did do some "scientific" noodling on it as well, explaning some stuff to others. I guess the pyra will be even better at this so I guess, yes definetly!

Buying Microsoft Surface is like buying Macbook, You enter in the world of pain, adapters, and privacy violation.
Also the Windows 10 version on the Surface and Surface pro is CUCKED, and you are able to install "apps" only from their app store.

Also double check if you really need a Wacom Stylus on a laptop.
It is not really useful for "taking notes". In the real world, it is far more useful for highlighting text during presentations projected on the wall.

For writing notes, the Samsung Galaxy Note series of smarphones will be far more convenient.
(It is an Android phone so you are in the same world of cuckolding and privacy violations)

Also the Pyra touchscreen uses resistive technology, so the stylus is not active like the Wacom one, it is just a small plastic rod.
So do not expect any miracles in terms of responsiveness.

Get yourself a real business class laptop,

like:
-the Thinkpad T, or X series from Lenovo.
-the Latitude series from DELL
-the Elitebook series from HP