Release 3.2 kernel issue tracking thread

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
ok here it goes:


Known missing features:

  • Scaler filter control


known bugs:



possibly unwanted features:

  • audio controls that have no effect on pandora by pandora's design


OS integration issues

  • SD card mounter utility the pandora freezes?


known non-issues:

  • USB host (EHCI) - must run "sudo modprobe ehci-hcd" in terminal before use, maybe a GUI option will appear for this with time. Note that doing this disables some powersaving, which is back again if you "sudo rmmod ehci-hcd".


known broken programs/games:

  • TV overlay usage breaks programs (PanMAME, ...)
  • UAE4ALL - broken controls (needs to be fixed itself, uses undocumented feature that won't be ported over)
  • MAME4ALL - quits back to desktop


hopefully fixed/implemented in beta4:

  • nub middle click missing?
  • CPU clock reset to OPP default on resume
  • touchscreen is worse (missing improvement code from old kernel)
  • reboot hang (wifi crash)


hopefully fixed/implemented in beta3:

  • overvolting support
  • bluetooth support (urjaman)
  • some realtek wifi drivers
  • TV out s-video/composite switch
  • charger LED is acting weird
  • wifi autoloaded by kernel, out of script control


hopefully fixed/implemented in beta2:

  • overclocking support (no overvolting yet)
  • SD cards are slower due to erratum workaround (SD1 might still be little slower, out of ideas what else to do with the new driver, SD2 should be fully fixed)
  • audio glitches in many programs
  • some SDXC cards won't work (not really sure but this was reported fixed)
  • wifi won't turn back on after being turned off in the menu
  • SD cards stuck write protected (WP disabled for everyone because it doesn't work on many boards)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,237
Seems internal wifi is activated by default.


My non-wifi Pandora hasn't crashed (yet).


Right nub (on this same non-wifi) is lost when putting into low power mode. Resetting nubs does nothing. Have to reboot


Can you tell us a little more about all the huge amount of new audio controls ?
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
Should dsp support be added to the list of missing features?
Well it has dspbringe included (instead dsplink), klaxon said it can be used too.

Seems internal wifi is activated by default.
Yeah the new kernel autoloads wifi drivers, the old one needed it to be loaded manually by scripts.

Right nub (on this same non-wifi) is lost when putting into low power mode. Resetting nubs does nothing. Have to reboot
Hmm that doesn't happen here..

Can you tell us a little more about all the huge amount of new audio controls ?
The new driver supports various modes of PMIC audio block, however those are simply not connected physically on pandora. I guess I'll need to hack the driver to hide them, since they do nothing.
 

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,552
Seems internal wifi is activated by default.
Yeah the new kernel autoloads wifi drivers, the old one needed it to be loaded manually by scripts.
Can we get that reverted back to the old behaviour? Wifi is a serious battery drain here, and I like to leave it off.

Right nub (on this same non-wifi) is lost when putting into low power mode. Resetting nubs does nothing. Have to reboot
Hmm that doesn't happen here..
I can confirm that it happens here, though I have my nubs swapped so the left nub (assigned to mouse buttons) is non-functional after a low-power wakeup.


D.
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,237
I'm still searching how to blacklist modules in Angstrom... :/
 
Last edited by a moderator:

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
Yeah the new kernel autoloads wifi drivers, the old one needed it to be loaded manually by scripts.
Can we get that reverted back to the old behaviour? Wifi is a serious battery drain here, and I like to leave it off.
The drivers by themselves do nothing when loaded, it's NetworkManager that brings wifi up. So we could kill NM, but then you can't use other things it might provide, like connection using 3d dongles.


Autoconnection is what the mainline kernel does. Every deviation from mainline causing pain when updating forward, and I wouldn't like to think 3.2 is the last one we are going to get. It looks like I'll have to end up with 100s of custom patches again..
 

Neelix

Insecticidal Maniac
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3,231
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Is there no way to tell network manager not to turn on the wifi by default? then it wouldn't matter that the kernel driver was auto-loaded. Or am I missing something?


-Neelix
 

Askarus

Hardcore Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,310
Location
Germany
Which one of this bugs/missing features will be hard, which one will be verry hard to fix (if it would be easy you shurely would have done it already ;) )


Edit: What's the problem with Picodrive. I've played 3 Mega Drive/Genesis games without any issues.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
S

StreaK

Guest
Seems that after booting from SD card, just after turning on wifi led, system hangs and/or stops loading. Only blinking cursor appears.
 
Last edited:

DynaMight

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2005
Messages
373
Location
Exeter, Devon - UK
Website
Visit site
Which one of this bugs/missing features will be hard, which one will be verry hard to fix (if it would be easy you shurely would have done it already ;) )


Edit: What's the problem with Picodrive. I've played 3 Mega Drive/Genesis games without any issues.
You need to manually select the new kernel in the boot menu else it boots the old one, which works.


I havent tried everything program/emulator yet but


Snes9x4p doesnt work, just quits back to desktop after selecting game


FBA - Works fine


Handy - Works fine


HuGo - Works fine


MAME4ALL - quits back to desktop


Mupen64 - Works fine


PCSXReARMed - works fine


UAE4ALL - wont load after selecting core


gpSP - works fine


gpfce - works ok, but sound is a bit flakey.


Angry Birds - Works fine :)


Doom Runner - Works fine


IOQuake2 - loads fine. looks fine but controls do not work.


PrBoom - Works fine


ZQuake-GLES - Works fine


EDuke32 - doesnt load menu


Streets of Rage remake - controls work in the menu but not in the game. It appears the menu use the 'keyboard' control but the game uses 'Joypad'


OpenTTD - Works fine


LemmingsSDL - Works fine


SMPlayer2 - Works fine


It seems fairly solid for the first beta. Looking forward to updates.
 

Link

ithic.com
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,938
Location
Vermont
Website
www.ithic.com
My SD cards aren't showing up in the experimental boot, wi-fi turns on automatically too as mentioned by others. I'm using 64GB cards formatted FAT32


Here's a report from dmesg attached
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,237
SD access (fat32) is also slower than with the old kernel. Saw it first with thunar.


Tried to view a full hd video with PanPlayer, no fluid image, as usual, but the sound has more pauses. The led blinked on and off longer, maybe staying ~30% more time in each state.


When i exited the video, had a blackscreen, OP button didn't work. I put in low power, then i couldn't do anything but reset.
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
I havent tried everything program/emulator yet but


...


It seems fairly solid for the first beta. Looking forward to updates.
Thanks for testing, lots of broken stuff..

SD access (fat32) is also slower than with the old kernel. Saw it first with thunar.
It's because of mutiblock transfers that are broken on OMAP, new kernel just disables them. This should fix data corruption when copying between cards.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fahrstuhl

Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
351
Age
29
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
The firmware for realtek wifi USB dongles isn't uploaded to the device so my rtl8192cu dongle doesn't work. (Works with 2.6)


EDIT: And I can't overclock above 900MHz anymore with the 2.6 Kernel o_O Used to work up to about 1050MHz Not even when downgrading everything! NOO!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
sometimes pandora doesn't come out of suspend to ram (after sleeping for a while) - i get a blinking cursor and need to hard reset
 

fahrstuhl

Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
351
Age
29
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
EDIT: And I can't overclock above 900MHz anymore with the 2.6 Kernel o_O Used to work up to about 1050MHz Not even when downgrading everything! NOO!
Fresh firmware install won't allow you that, you need to change OPP in CPU-settings.
I did that, both the GUI and /proc/pandora/cpu_opp_max tell me my max OPP is set to 5


Edit: Ok, 880MHz is the highest I can go, as far as I remember that's the highest clock I could go at OPP3. Is it possible my Pandora's ignoring the allowed OPP somehow?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top