256MB RAM Pandora (CC): Internal Wi-Fi Speed Below 100kB/s

Wootson

I have my Pandora since January 2011, but have issues with the internal Wi-Fi ever since receiving my unit. No matter where I connect to a Wi-Fi network, I never get speeds above 100kB/s. Most of the time it's somewhere between 50 and 80kB/s. This is really an issue for me as this does not even allow me to watch a YouTube video without buffering every few seconds. Or when I visit a webpage with several larger images on it, the Pandora just freezes and I pretty much need to kill the webbrowser process in order to use my Pandora again.

Even at my university where they have an ultra high tech Wi-Fi access point every few meters, the Pandora disappoints me with its speeds.

I've used all the firmwares from January 2011 and upwards, including the most recent SuperZaxxon v1.51. I'm a skilled network technician, so believe me when I say that I've tried any combination of channels, speeds, different access points, etcetera. This thing just doesn't work.

Is there any magic way that it can be adjusted via software, or is it a better option for me to buy an external (mini) Wi-Fi dongle with 802.11n? Even then, will it work at 150 or 300Mb/s, or just a very small amount of that? Are the internal components of any influence on the outcome of the speeds of an external dongle?

Last edited by a moderator:
^^^^^I believe the wi-fi chip is not great in the pandora.Some work better than others apparently.A wi-fi stick might do the trick.

Do you turn off the power saving and force the speed up? In a terminal, type

sudo iwconfig wlan0 power off

and see if that helps at all. For even more speed, you can try

sudo iwconfig wlan0 rate 54M

Note that if you do this it WILL consume significantly more power.